Photo by Kat Stokes on Unsplash

Great writing tips for newbies, Session 1

LARRY HOLLINGSWORTH
The Writers Blog
Published in
3 min readAug 27, 2019

--

If you are just starting out as a writer you know how frustrating it can be to find your groove sometimes. Hopefully, this article will help you shake off some of that frustration and help you find your niche as a good writer. This is going to be an ongoing learning process for everyone, myself included. I’m going to label each post I create for this topic “session one, session two,…..” so that each one can be referred back to in the future.

Session 1

I have been writing for most of my life, some academically, some for myself, and a little for profit. Yet I never claim to be a great writer. This is because I learn something new every day about the creative process involved in good writing. I’m always looking for ways to improve my writing skills and become the writer I wish to be someday. So should anyone who wants to be a writer.

To be a good writer one must constantly be willing to change styles, seek out new ideas, and put in long hours of sitting at a keyboard punching out ideas. So, to make the process of writing a little easier these sessions will map out some simple key measures that every writer should be taking to improve their work. First, we’ll start out with some straightforward steps that will help get the wheels of creativity rolling.

  1. Write as much as possible. I write something every day, no matter what. I either work on some poetry, work on a short story plot, write on one of my many websites, try to post some work to get paid, or I just work on some story ideas I have. I keep this process a ritual in order to stay sharp and focused on my work.
  2. Write in different styles and genres. This will help you to expand your thoughts and ideas on subject matter for what you write. It will also help you build a body of work that is diverse for your portfolio (we’ll go over portfolios in another session).
  3. Take on a variety of projects like blog writing, product reviews, web content writing, and other categories like fiction or poetry. Believe it or not, the more you expand your writing the better it will get. You will begin to see your mistakes and become your own best editor.
  4. Build a blog site, website, or create an online journal to keep your writing in. This will help you organize your work and create a portfolio that can be used to solicit from later on, (again, we’ll go over portfolios in another session).
  5. Finally, find what works best you in everything that you do, including writing. Always write what you feel and never let others sway your opinions or ideas.

I hope this article was of some help to those seeking to be better writers. Session 2 will be posted in a couple of days. It will go over websites, portfolios, journals, and ways to start marketing your work. Until then, happy writing!

--

--

LARRY HOLLINGSWORTH
The Writers Blog

World Class Writer, Grandfather, Artist, International Man of Mystery, Photographer, Freelancer, Poet, and Teller of Grand Stories.