winnerPhoto by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

How to keep your writing fresh and avoid having stale material in it.

LARRY HOLLINGSWORTH
The Writers Blog
Published in
3 min readSep 3, 2019

--

Great writing tips for newbies, session 4

This is the fourth part of an ongoing session of writing tips that I post regularly to this blog. For those of you who are keeping up with these postings, thanks. In session three I talked about some ways to cut your writers teeth and get some practice writing for the web. I hope the information in that session was helpful to those who reviewed it.

Session 4

This week I find myself searching for some new material to write. It doesn’t matter what kind of material, as long as it's new, interesting, and worthy of writing about. It’s important to keep your writing fresh so that it does not become stale and cliched. By this I mean a writer aspiring to be a good writer must always be looking for new material to write so that their own stays fresh and new.

All writers get some form of writer's block on occasion. We struggle for the ideas that are in our mind and sometimes find it difficult to put them to paper. We look for something new to write, just to find the same old empty notebook of unfilled thoughts on our desks.

Photo by Dariusz Sankowski on Unsplash

The best way I have found to overcome writer's block when it shows up is to do one of three things-

  1. I spend some time reading anything I can get my hands on, magazines, old books, comic books, newspapers, etc.
  2. I surf the net for things that interest me like, comics, the daily news, music, vintage books, art, ways to improve my writing, etc.
  3. Or, I just sit down at my desk and begin to write. I open up a document and start typing whatever comes to my mind. I call this freestyling. When I get an idea from the freestyle typing I stop, do some research on the subject matter, if it interests me I move forward, if it doesn’t I keep freestyling.
Photo by Fauzan Saari on Unsplash

Now, once I have an idea going I start molding something from that idea. It could be a poem, an idea for a short story, an idea for some web content I need to write, or an idea for a blog post. Take in mind though, this process doesn't always produce a winner.

Good writing takes a lot of practice. It takes dedication, time, and good writing habits to produce good work.

Thanks for taking the time out of your day to review the information presented here in session 4. If you missed session 3 feel free to review it at your own leisure. I hope this article was of some help to those seeking to be better writers. Session 5 will be posted soon.

Like all sessions, #5 will also go over more ways to become a better writer. It will also start a new blog on how to make better posts and write better web content.

As always- find what works best for you in everything that you do, including writing. Always write what you feel and never let others sway your opinions or ideas.

Write something GREAT today!

--

--

LARRY HOLLINGSWORTH
The Writers Blog

World Class Writer, Grandfather, Artist, International Man of Mystery, Photographer, Freelancer, Poet, and Teller of Grand Stories.