5 Tips & Strategies for Young People to Find Jobs During COVID-19

Sina Hajhassan
The Writer’s Cove
5 min readMay 7, 2020

“The youngest American adults are facing what is, for most of them, the first serious economic crisis of their working lives. By most measures, they are woefully unprepared,” writes New York Times reporter Nathaniel Popper.

About one month ago, I had my five-year plan intact and on track:

  • Complete my winter quarter public relations internship while in school.
  • Secure another internship or get promoted into an apprenticeship in my spring quarter, then graduate from UC San Diego in June 2020.
  • Get hired in a full-time PR career, then find a new apartment and make it my own.
  • Travel to different parts of Asia and Europe.

Today, I have to revise that plan, not because I will not achieve most of the things within it but because I have to take a different approach. Grateful for my previous experiences and current mentors, I know that I can still do it! Of course, there are some delays and traveling is on hold until COVID-19 dissipates.

I found this New York Times article the other day and the author did a great job of storytelling to reveal how things are looking for Millennials like you and me:

“Going into the financial crisis of 2008, Generation X was roughly the same age as millennials today, but had on average twice the total assets that millennials have now when all bank accounts, stocks and loans are added together, according to an analysis done for The New York Times by economists at the St. Louis Federal Reserve.”

— Nathaniel Popper

The simple truth is that most of us were not ready for this economic crisis. With that said, I still think most Millennials can get themselves a job somewhere after putting in some hard work, time and effort in communication.

As a communications scholar and enthusiast, I have found this to be one of my top skills. Knowing this, I have used it to my advantage by having this tool with me at all times and I mean all the time. Whether it is digital, in-person, verbal or written, I do my best to connect and share thoughts with other people. On LinkedIn, there is such a rich variety of professionals ranging from finance or marketing to healthcare and education. This is the main social media platform that I enjoy communicating on where there are valuable conversations and content.

Another place I turn to for valuable conversations are the people I know and can talk to in person or on the phone during today’s pandemic. Word of mouth is known to be one of the most effective forms of marketing and that is how I look at talking with friends, colleagues and family members. Many people you speak with are likely to know of a job opportunity to refer you to, they may even have a contact at a company or industry you are interested in.

With that said, here are 5 tips from me about how to continue your job search during the COVID-19 pandemic:

1.) Create a plan.

Think about where you are now and where you would like to go in your career journey and write down the specific vision you have. Next, think about what steps are needed to get there. In order to reach your goal, which is getting a job in this case, you will need to spend time reflecting and making an effort to work on a plan. Do not worry about perfectly sticking to the plans you set, this is simply a framework to put your vision on paper as a guide to refer back to when needed. If you would like to structure it more, you may want to focus on one or two years at a time to start, then add to or edit it after each year. What lifestyle adjustments are needed to ensure you will be able to take action during this pandemic to get that job you say you want so badly?

2. Update your LinkedIn and professional resume.

With this extra time we have at home, make your profile clear, personable and on-brand to show professionals who you are. Open that word document resume you have not revised since before or during college and add value to it with recent job experiences and organizations. Make sure they relate to the job and industry you are seeking a job in.

3. Stay connected and reach out to your network.

As I mentioned, communication can be a great tool for putting yourself out there and connecting with others. Make sure you are using your LinkedIn profile and grow your connection to 500+, message people who have the job titles you aspire to hold as well and politely ask them if they are able to get on the phone or Zoom for an informational interview. Show those people that you are curious about their experience and ask them questions! As I mentioned previously, word of mouth can help you find a job as well. Talk to the people you know and ask them if they know of any job opportunities or professionals who would be willing to ask around at their work. You can even find a recruiter through LinkedIn who will help you with almost every step in the job-hunting process.

4.) Follow informative news and continue learning about topics that relate to the field you want you to work in.

With so many events and conversations being online today, you can easily search online for webinars, workshops and panels that are hosted by organizations or individuals who are thought leaders in a particular field. Make sure to register for those virtual events and ask questions to learn skills that will add value to you as a candidate in the job market.

5. Be patient and take action when an opportunity presents itself.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, which everyone is facing, a lot of things are on hold. Most people such as you and me are scrambling to get on track with stability in career, finance, health, relationships and more areas of life. Please remember to be compassionate and understanding with people, as now is the time to foster strong bonds, support the people around you and support yourself too.

--

--