How to Say “Happy Mother’s Day” or “Mother” in 10 Different Languages

The Saint (She/Her/Tuma)
The Writer’s Cove
2 min readMay 13, 2021

Dear Mothers, I hope you are happy 😃, healthy ❤️ , loved 🥰, appreciated 😊, and hugged🤗 by your children.

Mother’s Day shouldn’t be celebrated for one day, and it is not only for biological moms. Appreciate your moms, grandmas, aunts, sisters, relatives, and friends by thanking them for always being there.

Happy Mother’s Day to my Mama, Mom, and Mae FAMILY ALBUM

Do you know how to say “Happy Mother’s Day” or “Mother” in 10 different languages?

Acknowledging mom’s heritage and being grateful to her. FAMILY ALBUM

Spanish: Feliz Día de la Madre

Myanmar: အမေများနေ့ A May myarrnae

Chinese Mandarin: 母亲节快乐 (traditional: 母親節快樂) Mǔqīnjié kuàilè

Thai: สุขสันต์วันแม่ Suksan Wan Mae

My mom, Ei Mhwe @San San Win, enjoyed her English major by being a drummer and volunteer teaching during 1979–82. FAMILY ALBUM

Korean: 행복한 어머니의 날! haengboghan eomeoniui nal

Japanese: の日おめでとう Haha-no hi omedetō

French: Bonne fête des mères!

Vietnamese: Ngày của Mẹ

Indonesian & Malay: Selamat hari ibu

Tagalog: Maligayang araw ng mga ina

To my mom, “Happy Mother’s Day” in 10 different languages … Mamma Mia Movie made me miss my mom from Myanmar.

--

--

The Saint (She/Her/Tuma)
The Writer’s Cove

UCSD Communication Student. I am learning about people through storytelling. This is my space for unfiltered thoughts and learnings.