5 Disconcerting Revelations That I Discovered at Age 41 and Would Never Have Imagined at Age 20

Weird life lessons for a better life.

Alberto García 🚀🚀🚀
The Writers Fight Club

--

Photo by Kitera Dent on Unsplash

Dentures

As a child, I discovered that my grandfather’s teeth slept in a glass of water next to the bedside table at night. That discovery frightened me: it meant that someday my teeth would fall out too.

It didn’t get any better, and I discovered that life was ending as my grandfather and I grew up.

Nothing is worse for a child than that first moment you are aware of your finitude. The day you discover that the party it’s over; that sooner or later, everyone dies.

Now that I am 41 years old and my grandfather is dead, I feel tenderness for dentures.

There is something truly hypnotic about the perfect smile of some older people. Their gleaming white dentures make me feel secure.

It’s like a symbol of sanity, signifying that it gets better even if everything rots throughout life, just before the end.

A reminder that you can lose even your teeth to vice and bad decisions and still always have a chance to wear a beautiful smile.

Horror Movies

--

--