My 92-year-old Grandfather’s Method of Finding Out How Smart Someone is

Learn from the wisdom of an old soul.

Alberto García 🚀🚀🚀
The Writers Fight Club

--

Photo by Mathias Konrath on Unsplash

My grandfather was born in 1923 and died a few years ago.

He survived the famine, the Spanish Civil War, the Second World War, and decades of Franco’s dictatorship.

His secret was to anticipate events.

My grandfather knew how to invest in Amazon when it went public in 1997.

My grandfather was able to anticipate the economic crisis of 2008 and sell his real estate assets in time.

My grandfather was known in his village as “Partridge’s eye” because he was observant.

He knew that the secret of life was to observe and to know who to bet on and stay away from.

In the words of my grandfather, “Who gets close to a good tree, good shade shelters him. But for that, you must know how to differentiate between the wise (good tree) and the foolish (bad tree) because the ignorant only bring ruin”.

And for this, he had a method for cataloging people.

The method consisted of a set of signs that indicated a person’s social intelligence. The more of these signs my grandfather saw in someone, the more intelligent they were.

--

--