WRITER’S LIFT

People Are Living Huge Journeys Inside Their Walls

A story by Ruby Lee

Piree Lua
The Writer’s Lift
2 min readJan 8, 2022

--

Edvard Munch, The Scream Source

My reading wheels didn’t get much of an outing over Christmas and the New Year because I was too busy scaring my parents about moving in with them.

So while my Saturday shout-outs took a break, they still remembered I’m supposed to be looking for stories that haunt me.

And I have one!

The only thing is that the writer has a ton of followers already so you probably already follow her. You may even have read this story already, but for me it’s a new discovery and I’m keen to share it.

My Story of The Week

Writer: Ruby Lee

Why: The story itself is like one of those urban legends or movie plot lines where the poor lonely old guy dies and it turns out he was a millionaire.

I think it’s haunting me maybe because one or two people brought some interesting booze to the comments.* It makes me think how nobody ever knows the huge journeys people are living inside their four walls.

One of the commenters says it best:

…I have learned the three story theory. Each party has a story with the truth lying…

--

--

Piree Lua
The Writer’s Lift

Silver-haired bird ~ Haven’t drunk the woke-aid ~ British-Asian writer ~ Writing about you (probably) pireelua@gmail.com