Nothing to Haunt

Photo by Jairph on Unsplash

I suppose I should start by stating that I’ve been dead for a very long time. I died of natural causes you know. I know you have heard of me, I know you’ve taken pictures of me, but all you see on the image is a white ball of nothing.

I know that folks came to the Castle a few years ago to prove I was there. That was rather humorous to be honest with you. I got a good laugh or two out of that. Of course, I was there, I can’t go anywhere else. This is my home you know.

The Castle has seen some better days to be honest with you. When I was alive, I could count for hours how many boats would come and go. We had parties which I loved so much! After I died, unfortunately, all I could do was try to mix in to events and hope that I didn’t scare too many guests.

Of course, there were rumors. Such a thing happened in my day too. I see people looking at my paintings and feel bad that I am still trapped here. My dear poor John taking the blame for my death. He had no such thing to do with it.

Now, no one comes to the Castle. I feel like I can roam about and not scare anyone. No cameras, no life, nothing. It’s a little sad to be honest. I miss having people about. I liked tricking the digital cameras here and there. I liked showing my image to those with extra sensitive feelings, especially children who no longer feel like they have to pretend. No, that’s up to the adults I think.

Of course, I do love my bathroom that faces the ocean the best. I look out at any time that I like and no ladies come in to bother me any more. I do like my privacy, always have. Oh how I wish I could paint on a canvas and make lovely things with my hands.

I wonder why nobody is coming here any longer? Is it something I did? Something that happened that no one told me? I tried to chat with the other ghosts that are still roaming this place, but to no avail. No one wanted to let me know what the hell is going on.

Then I finally found out from the higher ups, of course I had to give up a whole day with the cats and the pool. Turns out there is some sort of virus going around. We had only heard of such a thing when I was a girl. The Spanish Virus was similar, my granny had it. It was rather awful.

So, until this other virus is done, I’ll be happily haunting the Castle and looking at some lovely views. Hopefully, we’ll all be haunting people again and soon.

--

--

Gia Volterra De Saulnier
The Writer’s Sanctuary Publication

Married, mom of 1 teenage boy, musician and performer of mostly jazz these days . I’m starting to query my novel!