WRITING TIPS AND TRICKS

Dear Writer, You Really Do Not Have to Worry When You Get Zero Claps for Your Stories

There are six zeros in a million

Ilis Trudie Palmer
The Writing Experiment

--

WRITING TIPS AND TRICKS Dear Writer, You Really Do Not Have to Worry When You Get Zero Claps for Your Stories There are six zeros in a million. The Image shows the words ZERO HERO in black script on what looks like a wall. It is a black and white image with the words written in black.
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Is there any other social media type platform that allows up to fifty claps to show one’s delight in seeing, reading, or listening to a piece of work? I am not a social media person and so stand to be corrected if there is, but I want to venture a no. The ones that I am most familiar with allow you to give one like, thumbs up, or some other single indicator that you were pleased. But not Medium — you are allowed up to fifty claps and you clap to varying amounts depending on whatever.

When I first started on Medium, whenever I got a clap that did not come from my best friend or someone I knew, it made me happy and when I did not get a single read, worse get a clap, it dampened my spirit a tad until I finally realized that it really did not matter.

And it really does not matter

Do not let your belief in your ability to write and share be negatively or even positively affected by claps. It does not take away from the authenticity of your piece; it does not make it less beautiful or relational. It just means that that person has not read your work as yet and they will when the time is right.

When you write and publish your stories, go back to them and re-read them for the sheer enjoyment of reading a well-written piece. Revel in your genius — the way you can string words and ideas together across a page, sharing something novel and unique.

I know new writers get disheartened and start thinking, why do I bother? Whenever those thoughts come, sit with them a while if you have to, but do not allow them to move in and start unpacking their bags, setting up camp for a long visit.

I have posted over 440 stories and poems in the 10 months of sharing my work on this platform and many, and I mean a lot of them have not garnered a single clap but has that stopped me? Oh no! As long as I have something to share, I will share it and do so knowing that one day, the right clappers will come along. I have seen pieces with claps in the thousands and used to wonder to myself, how do they do it; how have they mastered the art of attracting claps? These thoughts continued until I changed the way I looked at it. Now I say to myself, their clappers are already here, mine are waiting in the wings.

So, my friend and fellow writer, you are on stage. Look up and to your left, look up and to your right. Do you see the shadowy forms in the dusk? Those are your clappers waiting in the wings with a standing ovation. In the meantime, continue to write; continue to publish; continue to read your own stories and those of others, and please, continue giving those 50 claps.

Hint… hint.

I. Trudie Palmer
One Love

--

--

Ilis Trudie Palmer
The Writing Experiment

Energy, Creativity, Spirituality, the Great E.S.C; One dose of upfulness in each story or poem or song lyric. https://esotericgardenskn.com