THE FRESHIE WRITER BASICS (SERIES)

What Writing On Medium Has Taught Me

Five lessons from doing something I did not think I would be doing

Life not abrupt (L.n.a.)
The Writing Experiment
2 min readOct 6, 2022

--

Photo by Suad Kamardeen on Unsplash

I have surprised myself because I did not think I would be writing online.

It has been an experience, and although I am not at my best level of writing yet, because getting better at anything takes time, I am proud of my progress.

There are a few things along the way that I have discovered about myself.

#1) I can release and let go.

To detach myself from what I have written in order hit the publish button.

Loosen my tie with perfection and realize each story is an attempt, a try to see what words connect to my readers.

#2) Stronger appreciation and humility.

I have a perspective to share, and I hope each time what comes from my mind is meaningful to readers.

It is incredibly humbling that through my words, I can reach someone who I do not know in my personal life. This is a platform where my words are not just letters in the cyber world. It finds it way to people.

I am appreciative of each chance someone actually takes the time to read the thoughts that float around in my mind, and I hope what comes from my mind is meaningful to readers. People can spend their time however they choose, and when they decide to spend a moment reading a story of mine, I am truly thankful for the opportunity.

#3) Wow, I can actually do this.

I can stick to something I started from an idea instead of hop, hop, hop.

I am an ideas generator. My mind is often floating around with them, making it difficult to listen to one and see it through.

#4) I can get past not having it all figured out.

Honestly, I have not figured out whether my stories are any good. I definitely have not understood which and why some of my stories do better, and others do worse.

Even though I have not gotten Medium down to a working, predictable formula, the unknown and uncertainty of how my stories will do are not so scary anymore.

#5) Interesting things can happen.

I have written about topics I did not think I would have any interest in writing on.

Also, I have found out that the best time to share my thoughts is not when I am done in the journey but when it is fresh in my mind while in the process.

Even though I don’t know how things are going to go, I have built the courage to keep going, anyways.

“Having no clue what you’re doing, gives you the best opportunity to learn.”

Thank you for reading my perspective!

--

--

Life not abrupt (L.n.a.)
The Writing Experiment

Introvert who📝under a brand name | Medium's home to my journeys as a Black young woman: faith✝️, higherEd📚, environment🌎, & more |↪️lifenotabrupt@gmail.com