Do You Write to Sell, Sell What You Write, or Both

Start writing today

Don Sabado
Write, Edit, and Publish

--

Photo by Nahima Aparicio on Unsplash

I used to believe that selling what you wrote was the only way to make money as a writer. However, writing to sell something is another way to make money as a writer.

There are several ways to write to sell, one of which is through copywriting. Many learn copywriting skills and make a lot of money as a copywriter.

Others use their writing to sell their digital products. I’ve recently used writing to market my online products on platforms like Teachers Pay Teachers (my TPT storefront).

I create digital products and write to market and sell my products. However, the most direct way to make money as a writer is to sell what you write.

That is where my newsletter business, Substack, comes into play. I’m creating a newsletter business where I sell short stories. I also sell you products that show how I went from $0 monthly to making around $500 monthly from my writing income.

The journey to making money as a writer is not easy. It’s taken me six years to make a small amount. That’s why I have a full-time job to pay my bills. I don’t rely on my writing income to pay my bills because I would starve if I did.

Here is what I learned about making money as a writer

  1. Sell what you write
  2. Use your writing to sell digital products
  3. Use both your writing as a product and a tool to make money as a writer
  4. Write on writing platforms such as Medium, Substack, and NewsBreak to increase your writing income.
  5. Keep your full-time job to pay the bills and build your writing income as a side hustle until you don’t have to.

Making money as a writer is not a get-rich-quick scheme. Most will never get rich from your writing directly. But it will increase your income and give you more freedom to do what you want.

Final Thoughts

Many jobs will provide you with a better monthly income as a writer, but combining writing with your full-time job will give you more than money.

The internet has leveled the playing field so anyone wanting to make money as a writer can write. Writing online gives you hope and keeps the dream alive if writing is what you want you want to do. Writing provides everyone an opportunity to make money online.

The opportunity is there for the taking. Start writing online today.

Don’t miss the Substack opportunity. Join the Substack platform. Subscribe to my Substack newsletter, listen to my podcast, network, and join me in writing online.

--

--