Having a One-Person Business Will Test Your Resolve

Tomorrow is another opportunity

Don Sabado
Write, Edit, and Publish

--

Photo by Ümit Yıldırım on Unsplash

I’ve been an online one-person business owner since 2018, but I have only been writing online since 2021. My income has increased gradually every year, but it hasn’t been the life-changing experience I had hoped for.

I’ve had friends and family be my biggest cheerleader with my business. I’ve also heard remarks from colleagues and acquaintances say things I never would have imagined.

I write daily, hoping for my next breakthrough. Here is what I discovered about writing daily.

What started as an exercise to write and feed my creativity has turned into a passion and an obsession to write fiction short stories.

I recently decided to publish all my fiction short stories in my secondary Substack newsletter, hoping it would gain traction.

I write about 1500 words a day on writing fiction short stories, with the rest of the time building my primary Substack newsletter.

I balance feeding my creativity as a writer with the need to make immediate income. I also discovered I love creating Substack podcasts.

I picture myself talking to a class of students, in this case, my audience, and I share my writing journey.

Since 2018, my monthly income has ranged between $20 and $455. It’s far from my expectations, but I’m pleased with my progress.

I equate writing daily with running long distances. I put my feet forward and push through, even if I’m far from the finish line. I’m making progress because I made $0 monthly from writing in 2017.

Everything I learned is from doing and making mistakes. I’ve also received valuable tips from other online writers.

I also hope to pay it forward based on what I learned by sharing my writing journey online.

Here Are Two Things to Remember

1. Never let limiting beliefs stop you from reaching for your dreams.

2. Believe in what you do; don’t let anyone steal your dreams.

I have two new current projects. I started a podcast and a YouTube channel to promote my writing business. I enjoy working on both.

I learned a lot from several Medium writers. Many have succeeded in creating a four to five-digit monthly income.

I have also noticed that these writers have done things to promote their writing that many don’t want to do.

I’ve seen my daily views on Substack increase from views in the 20s to over 100 in a day. My views fluctuate, but the increase in views is noticeable.

Final Thoughts

I’ll end this piece with a thought. If not marketing your writing is stopping you from making more money, give it a try and market your writing.

Start an online group for new writers or subscribers. Be active in marketing your writing business.

Don’t be afraid to make mistakes. Make mistakes, but learn from them.

Writing online has tested my resolve. What has kept me going was writing daily and reading successful writers on Medium and Substack.

They have shown that if you write long enough online and make the necessary strategy changes, you can make money as a writer.

Subscribe to my Substack newsletter, listen to my podcast, network, and join me in writing online.

For podcasters on Substack:

--

--