Here Is the Reason Some Don’t Start Writing Online

It’s because they listen to the wrong voice

Don Sabado
Write, Edit, and Publish

--

Photo by Alejandro Escamilla on Unsplash

The internet has made it easy for anyone to make money online as a writer. Many years ago, you had to write your novel or book and submit it to a publisher to have it published.

With the internet, you can self-publish all your books if you want to. You don’t have to go to a publishing company to get your book published.

It starts with the first 500-word article you publish online. After four years, you find yourself with 1000 pieces published online.

Next, you branch out to other writing platforms and send your articles to editors to be published in their magazines. On the first day, you make $0 a month, but one day, you wake up and make $600 monthly from your writing.

Here is the secret!

Stop listening to people, including relatives, who say, “It’s too hard!”

“It’s too hard!”

“You’re not a writer.”

“You have other talents besides writing.”

“You can’t make money as a writer.”

Thankfully, everyone in my family was supportive of me writing online. My mom was my biggest cheerleader. I’m a high school math teacher. When some of my former colleagues saw my work online, I heard comments such as “he is just a teacher.”

A few coworkers and acquaintances told me I wasted my time writing. They only found out after seeing my work online. I’m no longer a coworker or acquaintance of anyone who questioned my writing ability.

Stop listening to people who say you can’t do it; surround yourself with people who will uplift you and be honest.

The other day, I told someone I knew that I hoped many wouldn’t catch onto this online writing gig to make money because that meant more competition for me.

Writing is not a get-rich-quick scheme!

It took me about six years to make a three-digit monthly income ($$$) as a writer. Those are the statistics. It is a test of attrition. I see it as a marathon. The longer you stay in the race and write, the more it increases your chances of being a successful writer.

Here is how I define success as a writer:

I’m a successful writer if I can make the same amount of money as a writer as if I had to get a second job and make the same amount.

Here are the steps to help you become the writer you always wanted to be.

I left this article off the paywall because I wanted everyone to read it.

Steps to Write Online

  1. Open an account on Medium. It’s a $5 monthly membership.
  2. Write articles on Medium about anything you want.
  3. Learn from other writers. Branch to other freelance writing gigs as you gain more confidence.
  4. Write that book you always wanted to write. You can use Notion, Google Docs, Microsoft Word, or anything else.
  5. Write daily and don’t think of time.
  6. Keep your day job and write daily.

Final Thoughts

The internet has leveled the field so anyone can write online and write books. But here is the key to writing.

Start writing today!

Don’t miss the Substack opportunity. Join the Substack platform. Subscribe to my Substack newsletter, listen to my podcast, network, and join me in writing online.

--

--