I Don’t Use a Paywall for Some Articles

Don Sabado
Write, Edit, and Publish
2 min read6 days ago

--

Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

Since Medium represents a small part of my online earnings, I use Medium in ways that help generate income in other areas. Part of marketing my online business is reaching people who are not on Medium.

Here are several ways you can do to help reach a wider audience.

  1. Use the friend link for your paywalled articles. Everyone who uses your friend link can read your articles for free.
  2. Don’t put some of your articles on a paywall so everyone can view and read them.
  3. Use Call to Action (CTA) links in your articles. Use Medium to promote your other side hustles.

I’ve made almost all of my online writing income from writing on NewsBreak (NB). With my NB income and online tutoring taking up about 80% of my online income, I use Medium to promote my writing business as a writing portfolio.

The 80/20 Rule states that 80% of your income comes from 20% of your side gigs. Medium is part of the 20% income from 80% of my least productive side hustles.

Final Thoughts

I outline some of my many online side gigs on my profile page. I don’t make much money on Medium, but I’m okay with it because 80% of my online income comes from NB and online tutoring.

Use your articles on Medium to promote your writing business.

Don’t miss the Substack opportunity. Join the Substack platform. Subscribe to my Substack newsletter, listen to my podcast, network, and join me in writing online.

--

--