I Found a Section on Medium That I Never Saw Before

The reader’s interest section may help with deciding what articles to write next

Don Sabado
Write, Edit, and Publish

--

Photo by Myriam Jessier on Unsplash

I found a section on Medium that I’ve never seen before. My most successful article in terms of views, reads, and claps was the article “The Pressure to Write and Publish Every Day on Medium is Off.”

I wrote about not looking to break the 6% Medium code to earn $100 or more on Medium. But more importantly, I treated my article like my journal. I wrote about what I felt and how I feel about where I am in life.

You can read it with the link below.

Anyway, getting back to the section I never saw before, because I wrote my article as if I was writing my journal, and it was free to read because I left it off the paywall, the article went somewhat viral in less than a week.

I was pleasantly surprised because the article was about me rambling. In the process of going semi-viral and still doing well today, I came across the last section on the stats part of the article; it is the part that includes my reader’s interest.

Your Reader’s Interest

Writing: 61%

Creativity: 43%

Psychology: 42%

Mindfulness: 41%

Mental Health: 39%

Books: 36%

This section might be an excellent section to pick topics to write about on Medium. It gives you an idea of what your readers’ interests are.

Key Takeaway

Write articles that go semi-viral and viral so you, too, can have helpful hints on what to write about for your next article. All kidding aside, I have learned that putting a mixture of articles on paywall and not on paywall have increased my views, reads, and claps.

I still put most articles on the paywall, but I also keep pieces off of the paywall. If you also have this section with information, it’s an excellent place to think of when writing your next Medium article.

--

--