My KDP vs. Medium Account by The Numbers

I made more on KDP Amazon than Medium at this point

Don Sabado
Write, Edit, and Publish

--

Image by Tumisu from Pixabay

I don’t check my KDP account because I got burned out after writing six math workbooks in 2020–2021. I figured I would let it sit there and not market it. If it makes money, it makes money. I did a little marketing and stopped selling it sometime in March 2022.

The upfront work to make the math workbooks required many more hours than writing on Medium. During the first year, I made about $500. I did market my workbook in 2021. However, in 2022, I stopped marketing my math workbooks altogether. The last time I checked it was in March. But when I checked my account today, I made $124.23 for January through August, and in September, I sold four math workbooks.

Screenshot of my KDP account from my iPhone

The difference between my KDP math workbooks and writing on Medium is the former requires more upfront work hours, and the latter requires regular work hours every day.

It was easy to get burned out with writing KDP workbooks because I had to check over 100 problems and over 100 pages several times before I published the workbook. I had to make sure 100% of the math problems were correct.

Medium, on the other hand, I didn’t care if I had a redundant adjective flooded in my articles. I published it. I also didn’t check if I could make my sentences shorter. I wrote it how I felt it sounded when I reread it.

Math workbooks are in a specific niche. Perhaps my online presence on Facebook made a difference in the sale of the workbooks. In any case, I do believe there is a ceiling to making money with my math workbooks.

There is one thing I would choose with Medium over KDP workbooks. Writing on Medium is therapeutic while writing math workbooks was grueling. For this reason, I’ll always write on Medium because it has a calming effect on my teaching day.

Final Thoughts

Pursuing money is fine, but if it affects my mental health, I choose my health.

Don Sabado

Follow me on my other platforms on Linktree.

--

--