My Side Hustle Income Increased in July

Don Sabado
Write, Edit, and Publish
2 min readJul 27, 2024

--

Photo by Christopher Gower on Unsplash

My summer online tutoring wasn’t as productive as previous summers, but I made money and made up for it with my writing income.

Early in the summer, I applied for a part-time job at a retail store out of fear because my side hustle money decreased during April and May.

I didn’t want it to dip, so I applied for a summer part-time job. I knew I didn’t like the job when I entered the interview room.

I walked into the interview and gave them my schedule, which I would only work for. I told them I wanted to work only during the day and less than 10 hours weekly. That did it. I didn’t get the summer job.

I needed my summer off from teaching but didn’t want my side hustle income to decrease.

When I got home, I immediately started writing. It was early June, so I had two months of summer vacation to write.

I sent my articles to editors for one of the writing platforms I ignored. I did okay in June, but I increased my writing income to more money in July than I ever made in one month.

If you add my March, April, May, and June earnings, I made more than that combined in July. I was already averaging nearly $200 monthly, so my July writing income was a nice surprise.

--

--