The Time Off From Medium Was Nice

I Worked on Other Writing Opportunities

Don Sabado
Write, Edit, and Publish

--

Photo by Tobias Tullius on Unsplash

I’ve spent more time on other freelance writing projects, including Substack for November. The time away from Medium was nice, but I wanted to publish on Medium again. I was going to wait until December, but I feel rested and refreshed.

Substack Platform

I came across Kristina God’s article regarding Substack. With the uncertainty of Medium, I wanted to be prepared to establish my writing on other platforms. Here she gives advantages to having a Substack article. See below. 👇

Article from Kristina God

Here are two pieces from my two different Substack newsletters. I like Substack because it’s a newsletter sent through email with a blog platform feeling to it.

I haven’t figured out the secret of converting free subscribers to paid subscribers. But I’ve learned I need to write more research articles to attract more subscribers and readers.

If you have time, visit my two Substack newsletters.

Don’s Evening Newsletter

Photography, Travel, and Eateries

Medium Platform

Medium is a fun place to write. I’ll continue to write on Medium because I love the writing community. But at this point, Medium doesn’t come close to my other side gigs — TPT and KDP on Amazon. I’m starting to market them again and have seen an increase in sales.

Even though I’m taking a break from writing consistently on Medium, I still read articles daily. Writing two or three times per week sounds more manageable if I want to complete other writing projects.

Part of the reason I’m writing less on Medium.

  1. I needed the rest from writing on Medium to concentrate on other projects.
  2. I wanted to do other freelance writing, such as the NaNoWriMo challenge.
  3. I wanted to build my Substack newsletters.

My stats decreased but a little. A three-week break may not be enough time to show a significant decrease. What’s helping me is my referred member’s passive income which is fantastic.

Content mills still need to be decided because I’m just starting, and the pay is even worse than my Medium pay.

The NaNoWriMo challenge

I wrote about 500 words and then returned to my other writing projects. I started too slow and never gained any traction. I’ll try again next year.

Final Thought

Revisiting my other side gigs — TPT and KDP on Amazon — was a good decision because I have been doing well on both platforms for November.

Navigating through my side gigs can take time and effort. Sometimes, I need to neglect the platform I enjoy doing the most to earn more on my other side gigs.

The best approach is to consider Medium as a place to enjoy writing and as a stepping stone to better freelance writing on other platforms or opportunities. Besides, I can’t complain. I still earn enough on Medium to purchase several meals per month. It is also a place I can write to my heart’s content.

Since Thanksgiving break in the U.S. is around the corner, that means no work and no teaching for several days. To all celebrating Thanksgiving weekend, Happy Thanksgiving.

--

--