You Don’t Need Facebook for Online Businesses

I used to market my business on Facebook groups

Don Sabado
Write, Edit, and Publish

--

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

On January 17, 2023, Facebook (FB) banned my account. I had multiple side hustles and used FB groups to market my online business. I made okay money for free advertisements on FB. I still don’t know why FB banned my account.

I closed one account and immediately opened a second one on someone else’s advice. My first thought was, “There goes my online business.”

However, I realized I could use Medium and Substack to market my online business on writing platforms. That’s what I did. Over a year later, my writing and online business are thriving without Facebook. I’m making more money than ever without FB.

I now make 1,100% more monthly without my FB account than when I had an FB account. I also purchased FB ads to promote my business. But with Call to Action (CTA’s) and a built-in platform like Medium and Substack, I’ve had more people read my articles than ever.

Here is an FB alternative for my online business.

  • Medium
  • Substack
  • Instagram

Many on these platforms are writers and readers. It sifts through everyone who is not interested in reading my articles and purchasing digital products. The only marketing I do for my online businesses is writing blogs and articles.

an increase in 1,100%

I also added a newsletter business and marketing to my online business, so many of the features I used on Facebook are no longer important.

I also used my FB for my tutoring business, but I now have a company that can find me online tutees for a 20% cut of my tutoring earnings.

Takeaway

Medium has many other features besides the Medium Partner Program. I use it as my writing portfolio alongside my Substack account.

My target reach now is more than that of FB groups because I know many of the readers on Medium and Substack share my objective of making money online.

Final Thoughts

A 1,100% increase in my monthly writing income post-FB is not a bad deal. I know any online business has peaks and valleys, but losing my FB account didn’t hurt my writing and online business.

I make more money online than I ever did at any point in time.

Don’t miss the Substack opportunity. Join the Substack platform. Subscribe to my Substack newsletter, listen to my podcast, network, and join me in writing online.

--

--