Sydney Sunna: The Women Who Inspired Me

“They valued me as a scientist and challenged me to think of myself as one.”

Sydney N. Sunna
The Xylom™

--

My growth depended on the myriad of women who mentored me, inspired me, and invested years into my development as a critical thinker. They valued me as a scientist and challenged me to think of myself as one. They made room for me in the pipeline. Although I don’t have time or space to acknowledge each scientist who made an impact on me, this piece focuses on three of the most inspiring women, their contributions, and the ways their mentorship impacted me:

Lauren Wugalter gave me my first impression of science as I know and love it today. Lauren is a faculty member at Highline College where she teaches general chemistry for science and engineering majors. She was recently awarded the Distinguished Community Engagement Award in 2018 by the University of Washington, Tacoma, where she was formerly an instructor.

Lauren is probably the best person to give you an introduction into the wonderful world of science.

Lauren is passionate about engaging women and minorities in STEM fields, and she kindles science-enthusiasm within everyone she meets. Since her undergraduate career, Lauren dedicated herself to engaging…

--

--