Review: Kanye West’s Jesus Is King

Harry Rubin
The Yale Herald
Published in
2 min readOct 28, 2019

I just listened to the new music album by the famous rapper Kanye West. It is named Jesus is King. This was a surprise to me because I thought rap music was about “ganstas” and “thugs.” I never thought of Jesus as one of those “ganstas.” I always thought of him as more of a “lord” or a “savior.”

My favorite song on Jesus is King was the one called “George Bush is Cool Now.” I especially liked the part of it when Kanye said that George Bush is a cool man. It really sounded good when he said it with a cool beat in the background. My least favorite song was the one called “Yubba.” I didn’t really like it because I don’t know what a “yubba” is. Maybe it is like a Yubster? Like how “gansta” is rap talk for gangster? I think this just goes to show how thought provoking music can be, even the rap.

I think it is also important that Kanye talked about Jesus a lot. For example, in the song “Jesus Jesus Jesus,” Kanye said he loves Jesus so much that he has to say it three times. I think this is just like a poem, both because it rhymes and because he leaves it to the reader to figure out whether Jesus is good or Jesus is bad. I think I will recommend all my friends to listen to this music album!

--

--