Addee Kim
2 min readApr 19, 2018

Two college students hosting a college radio show

ADDEE: Thank you for tuning into WYBC, Yale’s student run radio station!

DANNY: I’m Danny

ADDEE: I’m Addee

DANNY : and you are listening to “Music For The People, By The People” with Addee and Danny!

ADDEE: We are WYBC’s only completely crowdsourced program! All call ins, all the time!

DANNY: I want to start today’s show by thanking our loyal fans. We were pretty bummed when we were told by the station that they were moving our show to a different time slot, but… if we look at our listener numbers, oh, just one!

ADDEE: It is three in the morning, so that might explain it.

DANNY: Anyway, thank you to the most loyal of our fans. Despite the oppressive reign of the radio administrators, you are standing by the most democratic program this station has ever seen!

ADDEE: Resist! This week’s theme is “the pregame”. So just call in and, request your “lit-ist” tracks, and we’ll (singing) play that funky music white boy!

They wait for responses

DANNY: Let’s just wait a second. I’m sure somebody will call in.

They silently stare at each other until the phone finally rings

BOTH: Oh thank Jesus

ADDEE: Hello caller, you are on the air!

Heavy breathing

ADDEE: Hello?

CALLER: Greetings

DANNY: Do you want to request anything?

CALLER: That funky music.

DANNY: Um, what? I’m not sure if I heard you-

CALLER: You said.. (heavy breathing)… you would play that funky music, WHITE BOY.

DANNY: Excuse me?

ADDEE: Play that funky music? Ohhhhhhhh, they must be talking about that reference I made earlier. Just to be clear, that was, like, a joke.

DANNY: But if you want to suggest another song, we would be happy to take that recommendation… for a song.

CALLER: You have made your move.

(The phone clicks)

ADDEE: They fully hung up

DANNY: That was so strange. FUCK, nobody is listening! What are we supposed to do, ADDEE? Play our own music?

ADDEE: I don’t even think I have my own music taste, like I wouldn’t even know what to play.

DANNY: Yeah you’re totally right. My spotify daily mix only has “Despacito” — like different remixes and covers, but still, despacito…. I literally don’t know what music is.

ADDEE: yeah i listen to a “house” garageband loop on repeat

phone rings

DANNY: Hello?

CALLER: Salutations

DANNY: Hey… if this is the last person-

CALLER: Shut up. Check your inbox

ADDEE: Oh, look, there’s an mp3…

“Play that funky music” by Wild Cherry plays with the line “till you die” repeating indefinitely

ADDEE: I’m starting to get really fucking freaked out, Danny. Like this guy is obviously disturbed.

DANNY: Hey, hey, hey calm down. Look, let’s just play something, anything!

ADDEE: You’re right…. Okay, here perfect! This is a classic Beach Boys track. You are now listening to “Surfin USA”

The beach boys’s “Surfin’ USA” starts to play but morphs into a demonic remix of “Play that funky music”

ADDEE: Let’s get the fuck out of here.

DANNY: I’m getting a Saferide

BLACKOUT