Pet Makes a -Good Companion-Photo by Ian Badenhorst on Unsplash

Self/ Pet

Pet Makes a Good Companion

That’s right. Do you want a pet? How do you know? 7 tips.

The Yessba
Published in
3 min readApr 8, 2024

--

Do you want a pet? Are you ready? How do you know?

Tips

  1. A pet can be a good companion for people who live alone or with a disability or mild mental illness.

I grew up with cats and dogs in my home. My mom owned a cat and dog at a different time. The cat used to sit in the living room and move around the house freely. No assigned person cared for her except to give her food and water and bathe her. The dog went out as he liked and came home for food. Both animals ate what we ate and sometimes ate meat bones rejected by humans.

Our last family dog, Lucky, was loved and admired by most people. He was my mom’s security guard and was effective when they traveled to a remote farm.

In the US, my experience shows that pets are like most children, with exceptional food, a doctor, toys and clothing, school, a playground, accommodation, and health insurance.

Second, I’ve known people who treat their pets better than their children and themselves. A former client would buy dog food and take her to the best Vet while complaining about her children’s needs and wants. Why that? She proudly…

--

--

Bassey BY
The Yessba

I write lifestyle stories that help us get healthier, wiser, happier,& wealthier.I like to organize, garden, cook & invest. https://bassey.medium.com/subscribe