Self

Why Imposter Syndrome Is Not Real

It’s a pop psychological weapon that is used to put women in socially-assigned places. Come with me, and you can prove yourself right or wrong.

Bassey BY
The Yessba
Published in
4 min readFeb 8, 2024

--

Why Imposter- Syndrome Is- Not Real-Photo by Sandy Millar on Unsplash

Hope came in and prophesied her imposter syndrome label. She spent about 20 minutes talking to me about her imposter syndrome– a home run. The brilliant young woman concluded, “My friends felt the same, too.”

What is imposter syndrome?

Dictionary defines it as “the persistent inability to believe that one’s success is deserved or has been legitimately achieved as a result of one’s own efforts or skills.”

Therefore, imposter syndrome is one of the psychological weapons used to put many women and some groups of people in their places–low-paying jobs, low skills, and rundown housing.

Also, I heard from others and read stories and articles from highly skilled women and many minority women diagnosed with imposter syndrome.

Now.

I invite you to be awake, ask questions, observe, and examine all labels in 2024.

Where does imposter syndrome build its foundation?

--

--

Bassey BY
The Yessba

I write lifestyle stories that help us get healthier, wiser, happier,& wealthier.I like to organize, garden, cook & invest. https://bassey.medium.com/subscribe