Small Steps on a Journey of Meditation & Mindfulness

Creating a sincere meditation practice is hard, but we all need moments of stillness.

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
The Yoga Narrative

--

Design by Almerstudio, Lines by Author

I’ve had a hard time writing about my journey with mindfulness. I started out as the anxiety-ridden soul on a steady IV drip of hustle fuel and exhaustion glorification. It may not have always shown in how I carried myself since I was trained from a young age to keep up a professional facade of false calm, but I was a wreck on the inside.

I started practicing yoga in 2018 and dipped my toe into meditation in 2019. Both of these practices relate deeply to the overall practice of mindfulness for me, though I strive to take that presence with me in all the different facets of my life. I consider myself a reforming workaholic; there are an incredible amount of mental blocks that stop us from slipping into a meditative state when we become obsessed with our output and how much we can pack into a single day.

I’ve learned enough to see just how early in the journey I am.

--

--

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
The Yoga Narrative

Brooklyn-based writer and poet. Designer in NYC. Drinks books and loves coffee. Has an MS from NYU in Integrated Design & Media. Working on an MFA in Fiction.