The Life and Thoughts of a “Zoomer”

The York Review
The York Review
Published in
3 min readSep 16, 2020

Hello, I’m Beck. Nice to meet you. I have an accommodation for my anxiety disorder that I got so I could take online classes all semester. I was really worried about returning to campus, especially since most of America lacks testing supplies and means. I am also not one to trust the partygoers who have been revealing themselves anonymously via the popular twitter account @YCPGossip. Thus, I haven’t been on campus in months.

I am so grateful that I can do my classes entirely online, and a lot of good has come from it. I’ve found that it’s actually easier to get my schoolwork done now that I’m at home all the time. My desk is my work station, and my planner and binder of schoolwork and looseleaf paper are always there. I don’t have to worry about packing my lunch or bringing emergency money to campus. Also, I used to struggle to complete my chores because I would commute to campus and have to stay there all day, from 9am to 8pm. Even when I had energy and free time, I was on campus so I couldn’t complete the housework. Of course, by the time I got home I was too tired to do so. Now that’s a thing of the past, as I can fold laundry as I get lectured about copyediting.

My cat has been taking her job as an emotional support animal seriously, and greatly decreases my stress whether it be by jumping up on my desk during class or just meowing at me every time I turn around to look at her. I realized just how much she purrs each morning when I wake up and get to start paying attention to her, which I didn’t notice before because I’d have to rush out the door shortly after feeding her. She is probably the number one fan of online learning for that reason alone.

There are some downsides to being fully online, such as the usual audio and video issues with Zoom. In my opinion, the worst aspect of Zoom class is definitely the pressure to be on camera at all times. I totally understand that professors need to see how engaged their students are, but there are other ways to do so. There is also a gendered difference to do with being “camera ready,” and if some people literally woke up just before class they may not want to be on camera. Others, like myself, are transgender and have issues watching our own face for a long time. Yes, Zoom has an option where you can hide self-view, but I feel that makes it worse since you can’t tell what your peers can see.

One thing I really don’t like is the way that the hy-flex system has been going. I feel like it’d be easier for everyone if we were just all online since we wouldn’t have to keep track of who goes to class on what days and what the Zoom link is for every class. Not to mention that professors wearing masks are really hard to hear through microphones, unless they’re blessed with a deep voice like Travis or Dr. Zerbe. It’s also completely impossible to hear people that are in class giving their thoughts and answers, and it seems as though most professors don’t think to repeat what the students say.

My little chosen family unit (three humans, one dog, and one kitty) is still following the guidelines from way back in March. We always wear our masks when in public, every two weeks as we shop for essentials like groceries. We stay as far away from other people as we can, especially when they aren’t wearing a mask or are wearing it wrong (seriously people, you don’t breathe out of just your mouth). I can only hope that you all are doing the same.

Again, I’m so glad I was able to get the accommodation to learn online, but it’s definitely got its ups and downs. I’m pretty well adjusted at this point, and ready to finish my senior year completely virtually. As for after college, I’m sure I’ll be able to find a remote copy editing position somehow.

-Beck Liberatore

--

--

The York Review
The York Review

A place that the creative voice of community can be heard | Based out of York College of Pennsylvania | #WriteOnTYR