Designed Today Podcast: The UX of You

Mike Curtis
The You Experience
Published in
3 min readJul 13, 2019

This is a series of tips and career-changing advice I’ve uncovered in my pursuit to help others design the way they are experienced. Ignited by the words of Mariah Hay, Head of Practices at Pluralsight, my mission is to help you, “Apply your UX skills to the way people experience you.”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kk1wtoV8LTE&t=319s

Dillon Winspear, currently the Lead Mobile UX Designer at Domo, Inc., is doing some amazing things in our bustling product design community here in Utah. Aside from his full-time gig at Domo, he teaches, he’s a mentor, he’s a husband and a dad, and he runs a successful podcast called Designed Today. I’m sure I’ve only scratched the surface of all the cool stuff he does.

It’s an impressive undertaking and he delivers every week.

It was humbling and a little nerve racking when Dillon reached out to me to be a guest on his podcast. Both Dillon and I have a passion and drive to help others design the way they are experienced by others — his podcast was an excellent medium to share those topics and collaborate on our thinking.

The episode, “The UX of You”, gave me the opportunity to dive into The You Experience topics like energy matching, the art of listening, remembering names, our ability to shine, the self-SWOT analysis, and having 20/20 social vision.

As a worldwide UX Design and Product Management community, we need to talk about these topics. Our success in our product careers relies heavily on the way we’re experienced.

There’s no more skirting around the issues, tucking them under the carpet or offering some bull$%*# reason for not hiring someone. Tell them. Help them. Give them action items. Do something besides sending template rejection emails.

I only wish I would have picked up on these skills sooner and started sharing them at an earlier stage of my career.

My passion grows daily to spread the word on The You Experience. If you’d like me to be a guest on your podcast or speak about these topics, you can always connect with me on LinkedIn.

Give the episode a listen. I’d love your feedback if you have some thoughts.

As mentioned, Dillon Winspear has a superb podcast and weekly insights with guests, rants, and techniques you can implement right away to make you a better designer, manager, student or leader. You can follow his work through his Designed Today podcast on YouTube, Apple Podcasts and anywhere else you subscribe to podcasts.

This article is part of the YouX Series, written to help design the way others experience you. Keep reading if this article resonated with you:

--

--

Mike Curtis
The You Experience

Senior UX Designer / New articles weekly on design & self-improvement / Helping you design the "UX of You" / 22+ years in design, marketing, & sales.