Running to remember

The Young European
The Young European
Published in
2 min readDec 4, 2017

I love to run.

When I run, I feel alive. No matter how my day has gone, no matter what I have or haven’t achieved – running is the constant in my life, which reassures me in any moments of uncertainty, sadness or fear.

For over fifty years my grandmother, Celia Mary, has been the rock in my grandfather’s life. A devoted mother to my father and his two older brothers, the words ‘selfless’ and ‘thoughtful’ are entirely appropriate when describing her life.

Granny was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease several years ago now. Her dementia gradually manifested itself, starting with memory lapses and slowly impacting more and more upon her capacity to manage her own life. Now she has neither the capacity to hold a basic conversation, nor the recollection of her own son’s names. The wonderful woman who never spared a thought for her own wellbeing; now, at the end of her life, finds herself entirely at the mercy of those whom she cherished and cared for so selflessly over her lifetime.

I visit Celia Mary and my grandpa Peter every couple of months and Grandpa is always very grateful for the company. For Granny, it’s a question of holding her hands and smiling. Dementia can often manifest itself in mood swings, brought on by anxiety or disorientation, so it’s reassuring for her to be in a state of simple serenity.

I love visiting granny and grandpa and I can’t wait to see them again this Christmas. However, in 2018 I want to do more. Although there is currently no cure for Alzheimer’s disease, there is plenty of research happening to address this, as well as how to live well with the condition...

I have decided to run the ASICS Greater Manchester Marathon on Sunday 8 April 2018 for the Alzheimer’s Society.

Here’s a link to my JustGiving page: https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/youngeuropeanuk

--

--

The Young European
The Young European

Citizen of the world. Millennial. Lifelong learner. @YoungEuropeanUK