#ElectAAPIs2020: An Interview with Latha Mangipudi

James Mannon
The Young Politicasian
6 min readNov 24, 2020
Latha Mangipudi (D-Hillsborough 35) meets with Senator Cory Booker (D-NJ). Credit: Adam Sexton.

Latha Mangipudi serves as Assistant Majority Leader in the New Hampshire House of Representatives. She is the highest ranking Asian American in the New Hampshire General Court (state legislature). We sat down with her to learn more about her experience serving in the New Hampshire House and why Democrats lost their legislative majorities in New Hampshire this year.

JM: What did you do before you ran for office, and what led you to run? Were you recruited to run by any organization?

LM: I ran in a special election for state rep in 2013. Before that I had served on the school board, and before that I was a PTO President. So I knew how important it was to be at the decision making table. And one of the then-sitting [state] senators approached me and said, “We have a special election coming and we would like you to run in 2013 for state rep.” Before that I was chairing the US-India Political Action Committee for New Hampshire. So I was active in the political circles.

JM: Historically, AAPI voters have had little influence in the Democratic Party despite being one of its strongest supporters. How can we change this?

LM: In New Hampshire, I was an independent when I ran for school board. When I ran for state rep, I had to register as a Democrat because my values align more with the Democratic values. But there were times that I could switch from Democratic to Republican if there was a local election. But now as it is getting more and more partisan, I’m finding that there is no more middle ground at all if we are constantly campaigning.

That’s why I have worked really hard to bring the AAPI community into participation. I would tell them to not sit outside and watch and to get engaged in the local political process. It is critical, and that is why they [local party leaders] notice involvement and candidates, whether presidential or gubernatorial, often come asking to work on campaigns based on your local involvement.

JM: How should we bring more awareness to and combat voter suppression efforts targeted at the AAPI community? Have there been any such attempts in New Hampshire?

LM: It [suppression] has gotten way, way worse. We really have to stand up and be heard. The biggest currency in a democracy is the vote, so we need to show that we have influence. Despite [AAPIs] having a small voting bloc of just 6–7%, that can be the winning percentage in any contest, so educating our community that every vote matters and that everyone needs to vote is crucial. Even in the local elections. We also need to demand that we should be able to rightfully vote without suppressive tactics. Despite COVID, all the phone banking and canvassing was what led our community to turn out to vote, so we need to continue that.

JM: Has your AAPI background influenced the legislation you support and the issues you care about?

LM: You know, I did not get involved very much early on in my career with the AAPI community. But because a lot of events would happen down in DC with the US-India Political Action Committee, I would meet with some of the AAPI community. But now I think our voices can be heard if we come together as a bloc. That needs to be capitalized on. I feel very strongly that it’s time we show our muscle: the democratic currency of the voting bloc.

JM: Tell us about your leadership role in the New Hampshire House. How did you get this position?

LM: So, I got re-elected this year for the fifth time, and I was the Assistant Floor Majority Leader, and because I am a first-generation immigrant and I am very comfortable in my skin, figuratively and literally, I have taken extra responsibility. I have brought in a delegation from India to meet lawmakers, passing sister city legislation with Indian cities, and also have been able to articulate what immigrant and AAPI communities face because of our family structure, which can be an advantage at times and a challenge at times because we [AAPIs] are responsible for our aging parents and children. This requires a balancing act.

JM: What is unique about your state legislature and politics in your state compared to other states? Why should people pay attention to New Hampshire’s politics when it’s not presidential primary season?

LM: Because it is a volunteer legislature of 400 members representing just 1.3 million people. It’s the fourth largest legislature. 400 Representatives, 24 Senators. So because of the first in the nation status, every two years the whole nation pays attention. Each legislator represents a very small constituency, which means we are very accessible. I get calls in the middle of the night even though I am one of 400. But, my constituents know if they call me, I can probably solve their issue or direct them to someone who can. Being small and agile in our constituency size allows New Hampshire state legislators to make a difference.

JM: Why did New Hampshire Democrats lose their majorities despite a comfortable win by Joe Biden in the state?

LM: The Governor had the bully pulpit because of COVID. He had two hours of press conferences every single day. He’s young, and he would give handouts and make it [conservatism] seem approachable. It’s not approachable, and we lost because our message didn’t get out. This was my fifth election this year, and my biggest campaign tactic was door-to-door canvassing and going to events in our home. That’s how I would talk to constituents. Because we couldn’t do that, the outside money poured in, and how can you beat millions of dollars in TV ads? It’s a volunteer legislature, and we only get a $100 stipend per year. So we have to make sure that dark money in politics is highlighted.

JM: How have New Hampshire Democrats, who have majorities in both houses, resolved their conflicts with the Governor? Has your party succeeded in getting some of its priorities passed despite opposition from the Governor?

LM: Well, we lost everything this time. I have served in both majority and minority control. I’m concerned about the level of partisanship that we have and the current Governor that we have who just got re-elected for a third term. He is the veto king. You know, we made such good legislation and he vetoed 79 bills. Seventy-nine in one year. Sixty-nine of them had bipartisan support. So, he’s a supporter of Trump, and his style is the same. We do have a challenge, and I’m looking forward to the ship turning direction with the leadership of Joe Biden and Kamala Harris and we have a great opportunity with Kamala Harris being the first woman Vice President if we can support and work together.

JM: How do you think AAPIs can take on leadership roles in politics?

LM: The most important thing to take on a leadership role is to attend meetings. Go to be heard and go to be noted. This is what I would tell my community, my constituency, and my friends and family: “There is a public hearing. Show up.”

The Young Politicasian is a project of the High School Democrats of America Asian American Pacific Islander Caucus. Follow us on Instagram @hsda_aapi, join the caucus, and apply to be a staff writer. The opinions expressed in The Young Politicasian do not necessarily reflect those of the AAPI Caucus or the High School Democrats of America.

--

--

James Mannon
The Young Politicasian
0 Followers

Former HSDA commitee member and staff writer. Not the sociology professor from Indiana.