Why Would a Person Keep Using the Zalonin App After a while?

Why people go directly to salons?

Rahul Abhishek
The Zalonin

--

What happens when they go directly?

Humans have been visiting salons directly for ages. It’s simple and straight.

I used to go directly as well, always. It had been like that forever but I can recall every time, I’ve been in any salons, I’ve waited 9/10 times. When I was young, I hated to wait because the salon was more like a dungeon but anyway, when I grew up a little, it didn’t change. I still hated to wait but I, along with billions of people entered a World where this waiting started being treated as normal, like it was all part of the process.

Today, I’ve entered into early adulthood, where time is money. I’m pretty famous among my friends for always being late but trust me I understand the value of time. It’s just that I’m always running for something, I take up too much tasks on hand even in less time and waiting in a salon is exactly where my patience gets tested. Those annoying radio or old movies or the constant bickering among the staff.

I took off once because I had to wait for more than 10 mins and it was a Sunday, so I went to 3 different salons and returned from the door in all three of them after looking at the waiting line. Now, next time, I could get the haircut was the next Sunday. One whole week.

Why don’t I call the salon and fix my timing?

Well, most salons I used to visit would never take the call or entertain such requests. They’ll say, “okay, come, come!” but once you reach there, you know.

This is where biggest percentage of people go to.

There are better salons though. I discovered it from the Zalonin app.

I booked it, went there and had a great service and came back.

I was happy with the salon until one day I was in the same market only where the salon was, so I went to the salon directly and fortunately it was a Wednesday, so I knew I won’t have to wait but who knew unfortunately, only 2 of the 4 stylists come on weekdays and even out of the two, one was gone out for lunch.

I didn’t had much time that day so went home without the haircut.

I thought I’ll try another salon this time, I opened the app to look for the listed salons in the Zalonin app and called them directly and told them I’ll be coming.

I regret that day.

I remember how once Zalonin refunded my money when once I didn’t like my haircut, although few days later, my hair had one of the best shapes! From the next time, I booked a different salon and a message was passed to the salon about my last haircut and what length I prefer. My barber told me this and it made me extremely happy.

So, back to going to the salon directly. I went there and came back home. The stylists had adjusted a my only a little bit and as I asked him to cut more, he refused saying it won’t look nice and insisted further on. I came home and took a shower, looked at my hair and I knew my hair length was still long for I couldn’t make them stand up and had a good volume. I couldn’t complain to anyone this time. To salon? We all know they don’t hear and I didn’t even wanted to go back to the salon. Nothing was refunded and I had to get another booking to Zalonin.

It makes sure that my appointment is on time and all my feedback is heard, plus, I always get a 10% off. Won’t leave that for anything anyway.

Also, I don’t like calling. It’s must easier to book it with a few clicks by my thumb and voila! Assured booking done! I use to call the domino guys as well but when was the last time you called them?

Two things:

  1. Appointment culture
  2. 1.1 Appointment/booking on app vs call.
  3. Feedback and customer experience. A company can work better than a sing-stand alone salon to make sure to maintain these things. Just like in food delivery space, I know that the outlets would never return, cancel or even listen to me, but swiggy or Zomato do because they understand better what is right for the customers than the food outlets.

Ps. Small amount of saving is still saving and we can save lots of money of our users if we make them buy subscription. This would also be an add-on to make sure the person would like to use the Zalonin app.

BIG NEWS: I’ve heard I can know what hairstyle will suit me best on the Zalonin app soon and once I select it, the info will be passed on to the salon automatically. Pretty sure, you’ll use it to after reading this. Here: https://download.zalonin.com

--

--