Getting back to Nature with Huckberry’s Alex Souza

Colin James Belyea
The Agency
Published in
3 min readJun 22, 2016

Some photographers say that photography is all about capturing the perfect moment. There are others, however, who insist on creating the perfect moment to capture.

Alex Souza is the Head of Photography for the visually driven brand Huckberry and has made quite the name for himself by being the driving force behind their casually serious “go outside and adventure” attitude. Creative Direction caught up with Alex recently to ask him a few questions about his influences and his craft.

Creative Direction: What was the most important influence or idea that put you on the path you’re on now, and why was it important?

Alex Souza: “Photography and my appreciation for wild and rugged places seemed to culminate around the same time. I was lucky to grow up in family that instilled the values of nature in me from a young age, but I don’t think I fully appreciated it until I was able to experience it on my own, camera in-tow. I vividly remember being a 17 year old kid wandering around a lake in the Sierras on a cold and stormy fall afternoon. Just me, my camera, and miles of open trail without a soul in sight. I got completely lost in my own world of framing shots, dialing settings, and peacefully observing the beauty around me. It was a connection I’ve never felt before and ultimately lead me to pursue photography and design as a career.”

C.D: What advice would you give to someone just graduating who wants to follow a similar path as you?

A.S: “Be relentless in the pursuit of knowledge and the experience of doing the things you love. Learn from mentors and people you look up to and try to position your work to reflect the direction you’d like your career to go. Start passion projects and never lose the drive to creatively evolve. Everyone has the opportunity to improve their craft.”

C.D: What’s the most useful technique/product/process you’ve began applying to you work in the past couple of years, and how has it helped you?

A.S: “Diversify. We all get stuck in creative go to’s; I know this sans-serif looks good with this serif, this shoot location works well for this type of gear, etc etc. These common go to’s can be stifling to creative expansion and growth as a professional. Lately I’ve been working to identify ways to push past these barriers and ultimately prevent myself from falling back into these ruts. Among other things the most useful process for me has been to seek inspiration across a vast spectrum of art, design, photography, and life experiences. The means of seeking the inspiration we create from is just as susceptible to ruts as the end result. Before starting a project, make a conscious decision to diversify your idea generation and to try new approaches to common problems. You never know what you may stumble upon.”

Be sure to follow Alex and Creative Direction on Instagram to get more wonderful photography and inspiration from today’s best creatives.

Published in The Agency- curated by Crew. Check us out to get started working with the best designers and developers on the web.

Over 10 million people have used products made on Crew. And over 3 million people have read our blog. Join them here.

--

--