Are you Future Ready?

Come and explore this topic with me as I launch my podcast on preparing ourselves and the next generation to be ‘Future Proof’

Amarit (Aim) Charoenphan
The Aim is The Way
Published in
5 min readJan 8, 2022

--

As a two time super-senior (graduating late from both high school and university) and someone who never practiced as an Accounting major from Thammasat University and stumbling into the tech world by accident, I look back and just recently realized that one of my superpowers is the ability to unlearn and learn new information very quickly, especially when I needed to reinvent myself for new roles and careers of the future. Only until recently did I realize that this was a gift in an age of constant and rapid disruption, where I now make time for myself to spend hours every day reading on crypto and blockchain, just to catch up to the trends that seems to accelerate past me everyday.

Nevertheless, one of the biggest misgivings I have of the current education system was that whatever I now used in life, was mostly self-taught or learned after I graduated. Until today, as I am invited to advise on curriculum changes at different universities, I leave with a sense that whatever we designed was either obsolete or that the world had moved faster than the current curriculum can change (sometimes taking as long as 4 years to implement any changes). I recalled during my studies case studies that were over a decade old, classes that never mentioned digital marketing or Silicon valley, and that only until recently have startups become a buzzword in universities after I had spent a decade promoting startups in Thailand. The more I look back, the more worried I become that Thailand’s education is perpetually playing catchup and never building the ‘Future Ready Leaders’.

Currently, education disruption and billion dollar businesses are buzzwords that have sprouted all over the world, including international schools. Yet many repeat the same models and mistakes as their predecessors, expecting the same financial outcomes and building academically competitive students that are increasingly depressed and disillusioned by an education model that no longer serves them. Therefore, to change the system, I’ve done what I do best: to jumped into the rabbit hole to find out for myself by being the Innovation at VERSO International School, after being inspired by the Vision of the Founding Head of School, Cameron Fox, since two years ago, and look for answers to some very tough questions such as:

  • In a post-pandemic world, what kind of skills that future young leaders need that can be realistically applied to their lives and work?
  • What kind of experience should the school provide to the students that are meaningful?
  • What kind of courses fit the changes in the digital era and how should they be delivered?
  • How should parents get prepared for the coming changes?

The more I asked, the more I realized that VERSO International School or I alone does not hold all the answers to this very important topic. Therefore, I decided to Co-host FUTUREREADY SCHOOL, a podcast that aims to break the boundaries of traditional education and prepare ourselves for the coming changes through the sharing session with the educational experts, e.g. parents and young entrepreneurs, in order to let the students find their own interests to build up the mindset of entrepreneurs and innovators.

FUTURE READY SCHOOL”, by VERSO International School, is a podcast that will bring you the future through the new educational concepts in the digital transformation era. I hope you can stay tuned at FUTURE READY SCHOOL’s Facebook Live and Clubhouse every Saturday night from January 8th onwards, where I will be talking to some of the most important thought leaders, tech titans and business leaders such as:

E.P. 2 ‘White-Shakrit Chanrungsakul’’

In the 2nd episode of FutureReady School, we’d spoken with “Shakrit”, a technological expert who has witnessed the transition from analog to digital age. Apart from the management role of FireOneOne Co., Ltd., assisting numerous companies over the digital-disruption transition period, he also built the school for startup and SME entrepreneurs in the technology industry called ‘Wecosystem’. The school became an essential missing piece to fulfill the startup ecosystem in Thailand. He came to share his vision regarding the educational system which will play an important part in the coming social change where technology wirelessly connects people’s lives.

E.P. 1 ‘Meng — Sompoat Chansomboon’

On January 9th, Khun Sompoat, CEO of KT Venture Capital under KT Ventures a new business sector of Krungthai Bank that has been established in order to support the ecosystem for SME businesses for both B2B and B2C in Thailand. He is a legit expert with more than 10 years of experience to lead a bunch of SME businesses to their goals, meanwhile, he’s also a ‘full-time father’ of a skeptical son.

Stay tuned for the re-run program for all Episodes as well as our upcoming on at:

Soundcloud: https://bit.ly/34kDm0d

Clubhouse: https://bit.ly/3FVx6tw

Youtube: https://bit.ly/3eTBRrC

Thank you for subscribing and looking forward to learning this journey with all of you!

Bonus E.P. 0: Kicking Off Future Ready School with my cohost Ktaya!

--

--

Amarit (Aim) Charoenphan
The Aim is The Way

Transplanetarian & Ecosystem Developer. ASEAN Director, ImpactCollective. Innovation Advisor, VERSO International School. EHF Fellow, Obama Fdn. Leader APAC.