Clean Emails and Cold emails: Two great advice I got from Twitter in 2020

Amarit (Aim) Charoenphan
The Aim is The Way
Published in
3 min readJun 6, 2020
(Photo by Kon Karampelas on Unsplash)

For busy community leaders and entrepreneurs, cleaning our inbox and keeping the score zero is a daily game we play. Today I want to share two tips I learned from Twitter of how to save my sanity with Clean Emails and Cold Emails.

According to @DKSF, I’ve learned about Clean Email and have started to use it in my life. Many of you who have asked me for a virtual introduction will surely have come across this. Because as entrepreneurs, we are so busy and overwhelmed but we always love to be helpful and give back. It just takes too much time for me to get back to folks and write a proper intro. This way, I can speed up the time it takes for me to make mutually beneficial intros and make sure people stay connected.

So what is a Clean Email?

1. Forwardable subject (i.e. not “Great to hang, DK!”)
2. Focused, customized blurb explaining the purpose of this potential intro — no mention of other topics/ideas we may have discussed
3. No strange formatting
4. Has a single email signature from the asker

3/ Assume I am using a Gmail mobile client.

Hint: Assume Cut/Copy/Paste don’t work at all.

4/ The actions I will take are the following:

1. Tap “Forward”
2. Type the prospective connection’s email address in the “to”
3. Write a 1-line blurb endorsing the connection
4. Tap “Send”

5/ When I get connection requests like this I act on them immediately.

Source: https://threadreaderapp.com/thread/1213947779866869761.html

Cold Emails: The secret weapon for entrepreneurs

The other skill that all entrepreneurs, both aspiring and seasoned veterans need to master is the Cold Emails (and DMs) and I was reminded the other day why we need to continuously hone this craft. Whether it is to raise sponsorship, land my first job, sell global speakers and sponsorship for Techsauce Global Summit, or securing key partnerships for HUBBA with Google for Startups, I must say that I have been unashamed to write cold emails to some of the top CEOs of the most influential tech companies in the world. To be honest, I believe most CEOs skim their email and we always know there’s going to be some gem engaging with a cold email from time to time. CEOs also used to be nobodies in the past and have to hustle their way to open doors, make connections, and stand out. When done right, I have replied to offer internships, give talks, and provide mentorship to entrepreneurs. So believe me, it works because I’ve built my entire business out of it!

So according to the writing guru David Perell, what makes a great Cold email? Here’s what I’ve learned:

∙ Email the CEO directly.
∙ Show that you’re unique.
∙ Be specific.
∙ Make a bold request.
∙ Have a clear call-to-action.
∙ Don’t be humble. This isn’t the time to be modest.

Some examples below:

David Perell’s email I sent to @tylercowen in 2017.
Another great example an email to a random employ of Task Rabbit

and if done right, this is what might happen:

So keep practicing and never stop to write better emails. It could very well lead you to your next internship, you dream job, an amazing business opportunity or a just a life changing coffee chat!

Source: https://threadreaderapp.com/thread/1209564849572855813.html

--

--

Amarit (Aim) Charoenphan
The Aim is The Way

Transplanetarian & Ecosystem Developer. ASEAN Director, ImpactCollective. Innovation Advisor, VERSO International School. EHF Fellow, Obama Fdn. Leader APAC.