The Art Reals: real artist. real mom. real talk.

Satyn Lee Morris
theartreals
Published in
2 min readDec 21, 2018

Typical Saturday: errands and early morning pediatrician visit, laundry, nap, dishes and play time, snacks, nap, playtime and 3 loads of laundry, lunch, and another nap. Final time on the clock? 1:48 on a Saturday afternoon, and boy am I tired! Like, I want to curl up next to my son who is taking his 3rd nap today and not wake up till next Saturday kind of tired. I have learned that naps have a nasty habit of leaving me cranky after I wake up from them though (major bummer!), so instead I am sitting here contemplating over everything I’ve done today.

I managed to work in business time during the naps to answer client emails, make new designs, and begin planning on the rest of month. I normally would consider all this just the tip of the iceberg of a massive planning session, but like clockwork, the annoying “artist block” as I call it of not having the drive to be productive shows itself BIG TIME. I can dream insanely wonderful, beautiful unique ideas and simply not have enough steam to get going on them. People have argued whether this “block” actually exists in the creative realm, and I tend to side with the YES’ all the way!

This point of my creative process is typically where I would get aggravated and tell myself, “Stop being tired, stop being distracted. You have good ideas so get to work. Get over it.” Today, I am SO. HAPPY. I got distracted. Why? Because I looked over and saw Leon’s favorite stuffed animal on the floor next me and it hit me like a ton of bricks:

God knew that being a mom would bring out the superhero in me I always wanted to be. Now it’s my turn to believe it.

No matter what my doubt is lying to me about my job performance as a mom, as a creative, as wife, a friend… I. AM. ROCKING. IT. The better news is that if I am one, then friend, YOU ARE TOO! It might just be the fact that you and your kid managed to have clothes on, but remember, you are freaking superhero. Days like this is why I decided to start The Art Reals; some come straight out of a comedy, and others are when us superheroes get stuff done. I want to share REAL TALK with you from a REAL CREATIVE who is a REAL MOM — we all gotta stick together!

Get distracted from the negativity and let {loving} relationships pour into your life to remind you that through all the crazy and different hats we wear, you can do this, Wonder Woman!

Let’s do life together and keep tuned to The Art Reals. Real artist, real mom, real talk.

Stay Creative,

Satynlee
Satynlee Designs

--

--