Los Angeles Producer Philip Johnson is Flipping Hollywood Upside Down with New TV Series

Jzon Azari
A by Azarian
8 min readApr 24, 2020

--

Many dream of living in New York City and Los Angeles, but how many actually get to make those both a reality?! Well Michigan bred producer and writer, Philip Johnson has accomplished both however he’s just getting started. We got a chance to catch up with the now Los Angeles native to talk about his new project “Flip Flop” and how he’s adjusting to the Hollywood lifestyle.

Jzon Azari: Being a viewer of Sex and the City, we first caught wind of your name and work on YouTube through the series Black Sex and the City. How did that name come about and were you a fan of the original show?!

Philip Johnson: That name was a very spontaneous choice. One day I was talking with a friend about starting a YouTube series together inspired by our lunch conversations about being single, young, black daters in New York City. When I first moved to New York in 2017, I did watch the first 1.5 seasons of Sex and the City and I LOVED it! Since then, I have watched the 2 movies and I shed tears both times. SO DAMN GOOD!

Jzon: Being from Michigan and relocating to then New York City and now Los Angeles you’ve experienced a lot of change. However, during this coronavirus pandemic that we are all currently experiencing what has been the greatest hurdle for you to overcome in each city after relocating and how did you go about adapting to your environment to conquer each challenge?!

Philip: The biggest hurdle for me to overcome in New York City was the fact that once my first winter there hit, I desperately wanted to already move to my dream place: California. I appreciated the hustle of NYC, but I wanted to feel more quality of life (nature/scenery is especially crucial for me). I redirected those frustrations through practicing extreme gratitude, and my web-series of 2018: Black Sex and the City. I created every second of most days while living in NYC, and that set me up to hit the ground running when I moved to LA. Oh and vacations. Monthly vacations got me through it ha-ha.

The biggest hurdle to overcome when I moved to LA was my best friend committing suicide one month after I moved here. My whole world and entire mental health got rocked right away, so LA brought the challenge of making SURE that I take care of myself as a human alongside the hustling spirit that NYC bred into me. I had to learn patience in a whole new way and slow myself down in order to propel my dreams forward.

Video by Hollyscoop / YouTube

Jzon: Speaking of hurdles, you ran track most of your life and it played a significant part in your latest project, Flip Flop. Attending the Atlanta screening of the pilot premiere we experienced firsthand how the audience engaged with it and everyone left filled with laughter and joy. Can you tell me in detail how you went about creating the script and choosing the cast to help carry out your vision?!

Philip: March 1, 2019, I turned my phone off to brainstorm my next show idea, looked at the ceiling and BOOM. Track & Field. I instantly missed my favorite sport. Next? Technology & Science Fiction. I wanted a modern show. After combining all elements, I thought of into a story, Flip Flop was born. After getting the creative vision in my head, I drafted a pilot episode. I then assembled a team of writers and brought my script to our first writer’s room. From there, we debated every little detail of the show, re-worked parts of the script completely, and developed the story more thoroughly. When it comes time to write the scripts for our remaining Season 1-episode visions, my writers and I will split the episodes up so that unique voices convey the show’s dope visions.

We held casting through pushing out a casting call flyer, instructing actors on how to submit auditions via email. I also reached out directly to some actors I had eyed out through social media or their work. A couple re-casts happened prior to pilot filming in order to ensure the best chemistry possible and we succeeded!

Jzon: Creating media with LGBT characters and themes, what is it that you think many creators both mainstream and indie represent correctly while telling a story with their work. Also, we know many creators do not hit the mark. What suggestions would you lend to those creating material from the ground up with limited resources?!

Philip: I think many creators capture the complexity of the LGBTQ+ dating world. Oftentimes, the boundaries between friend and “more” can get blurred easily when 2 people of the same gender co-mingle. I have seen these dynamics play out well on-screen in various ways.

My suggestion for those creating material with limited resources is to start by making a list of the things that make you the happiest. These things that spark that childlike excitement in you are the first step to making compelling art, because art must come from a genuine place of love and passion. Once you know the vital elements you want to see in your work, begin to combine them creatively and remember to keep it simple! Whatever creative process you have, just make sure to bring unique parts of your mind/experience into your art. Stand out regardless of your budget!

Jzon: We can call you an official LA native, now right?! What have been the highlights of your life thus far since moving to the city. Has Los Angeles lived up to your expectations that you’ve had or seen in movies and television or was it not as described… in your opinion?!

Philip: I’m a proud LA transplant ha-ha! Since moving to LA, my biggest highlight has been our Hollywood Premiere of Flip Flop in December 2019. To conclude our Flip Flop Tour with a packed out Met Theatre in Hollywood was something I still can’t believe I actually accomplished in 2019. It was a very tough year after my friend passed away, so to end it on such a high note with our work paying off was a true blessing. I couldn’t believe hundreds of people really showed up around the country for events I was hosting as a full adult. It was surreal.

Los Angeles has lived up to my expectations! I love it here! I go to the beach all of the time since I don’t live too far from it and I’m just so grateful. I finally live in the type of paradise I dreamed of so much and longed for while in NYC. It’s honestly more beautiful than I even imagined.

Jzon: As a producer of your own works and balancing a job, what difficulties have you faced and what are just a few of the sacrifices that you’ve made to make your dreams come true?! Would you say the risks that you’ve taken have paid off now or do you see them paying of later own in life?!

Philip: The hardest thing is that 24 hours in a day simply isn’t enough. Black Sex and The City had 2 seasons within 9 months in 2018 which was great, but the sacrifice for that consistency was that I didn’t have much free time at all. I was glued to my screen doing Philaye Films work most of the seconds that I wasn’t at my corporate job. I still deeply appreciate that time of my life because I was only glued to my work because I have so much fun with my passions. And the amount of progress in so little time was wild!

I have much more work-life balance now in LA, thankfully. I also have taken on more financial risk, though. Working in Finance 9–5, in addition to our fundraising, helps me to afford my productions but sometimes I do dip into credit cards in order to cover costs. I 100% believe that all of the calculated risks I’ve taken are in the process of paying off, because it was very important for me to CREATE my way into the industry which I have done. It takes money to make money. Investors have been knocking on my door since late 2019, but I have been patient in ensuring the correct partnerships for my company’s goals. I also have been getting recognized and setting up gigs with other people/companies in the industry that you all will begin to see unfolding post-pandemic! To actually see my investments, begin to pay off has been surreal for me in 2020.

Jzon: Meeting creatives like Issa Rae and others, who has been the most inspiring individual you’ve met that has helped you along your creative journey and what advice did they lend to you?! Furthermore, what conversation would you give to someone in your hometown that wants to pursue their dreams such as you?!

Philip: The most inspiring individuals I’ve met have been some of my fans who I have developed friendships with through social media, who are also creatives. Long before I started this creative career, I grew up thinking I wasn’t creative because I can’t draw or paint well. I couldn’t color within the lines. So, the messages I receive from people telling me about how my artistry helps inspire them to believe in their own art inspire me the most. Knowing that my art actually succeeds at making people feel good, the way other artists do for me, really keeps me going. I respond to every single message because love exchanges fuel me and God sends us as angels for one another.

My advice is always going to be for people to believe in themselves and pursue what they want no matter what. I am the same way with my friends and family. I’m the friend who is always going to speak life into you and challenge you to look at the positive no matter what. Everyone’s path is different, so the key to me is helping people believe in themselves the way my supporters have fueled me along the way, by helping me believe in myself.

To find out more about Philip’s upcoming projects including ‘Flip Flop’ via YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and on his company’s website.

--

--

Jzon Azari
A by Azarian

Audiomack Tastemaker and publicist showing individuals how to “Invest, Innovate and Educate” their way to the top through technology.