Could you do this all day?

Chris Maiden
thebarefootrunningcoach
3 min readDec 28, 2017

I want to run long distances barefoot.

There, I’ve said it.

Out loud.

I’m going to run at least one marathon barefoot in 2018 and secretly, sssh, don’t tell anyone, I want to run further… much further.

I guess it’s because I’ve been inspired by barefoot runners such as Terry Orsi. In just a few days time he’ll be slipping out of his shoes within view of the Golden Gate Bridge to take part in the New Year’s One Day Race: a 24 hour endurance event taking place in San Francisco, California. Terry has already completed a 50k and a 50 miler but this time he’s hoping to break the 100 mile barrier! I’ll be cheering him on from across the Atlantic, go Barefoot Terry!

I’ve also been inspired by Julia Chi Taylor. In March 2018, Julia is setting off on an amazing adventure running barefoot across Spain. I can’t imagine anything more exciting, what a challenge! Please do read up about Julia, about her adventure and support the charity she’s running for in any way you can.

And then there’s Majo. Who could fail to be inspired by Majo? He’s humble, grounded… down to earth. Says it like it is… Get well soon sir!

So as I think about these incredible athletes and evaluate where I am with my running, as I ponder how I can increase distance, I keep coming back to one vital thing…

Form.

The boundary of my barefoot running is firmly dictated by my form. My basic core fitness is good, I’m fat-adapted and my feet are really well conditioned but I’ve yet to finish a long run feeling that they could carry me much further. This I put wholly down to form: I am not yet consistently light enough in my landing and lift off, the contact point with the ground is everything! I’ve yet to truly run as though my feet were kissing the earth.

It’s with this in mind that a thought has been forming during recent runs, a question in fact:

Could you do this all day?

No really, could you do this all day? The only right answer should be yes but frequently, during a typical run, it’s often no… which raises a further question, why? The answer to that question informs what must change… increase cadence, slow down, bend the knees more, straighten up… whatever it is. If I can identify what needs to change in the very moment it is occurring, I can turn each no into a yes… I can do this all day!

Wow! This is revolutionary thinking! When the thought first crystallised, I was convinced I’d hit upon an entirely new and unique idea but of course it isn’t… David Brailsford calls this cumulative (or marginal) gains. The idea that if a tiny improvement can be made in a number of areas, each will add up to become something significant. It’s the same principle I’m working on.

Two activities I’ve been doing recently have really helped improve my form:

The #30dayplankchallenge (sorry, I’m 27 days in, I just can’t write it any other way…) and shorter, purely form-focused barefoot runs. I’m going to continue expanding core workouts and shorter runs in the new year, I’ll mix it up a bit and post about my progress on Instagram.

So here’s to better form! To shorter runs so I can go longer distances! It all makes perfect sense… I think?

Happy holidays! Happy new year! Let’s do this! Let’s do this all day!

--

--