The 28 day Supine Plank (low position) Challenge

Chris Maiden
thebarefootrunningcoach
2 min readFeb 1, 2018

In December, I completed my first 30 day challenge: the 30 day plank challenge. Shortly after completing it, I discovered the inverted (or supine) plank variation… and so that’s going to be my February challenge! I’m following the same schedule as the 30 day plank challenge except I’ll be chopping off 2 days so I can hit something new in March.

If you fancy joining in, here’s a video on how to do the supine plank. I’ll be doing the low position which is the second variation shown.

Day 1

Day 20 Update

Yesterday was a rest day but the day before and today were both 150 second days. 150 seconds of supine planing feels like 5 minutes of regular planking… goodness knows how I’m going to get through the remaining days of this challenge!

On the bright side, it’s becoming increasingly clear to me just how important core workouts really are. I guess it’s because I am starting to feel the subtle benefits of a stronger core… that general feeling of all round greater strength, feeling like I have more control, more poise and more flow in my running. I still have days when it feels like I’m back at square one, days when nothing clicks and I feel (and probably look) like a charging rhino in slow motion but for every day like that, I have days like this…

Apologies to any Rhino readers.

--

--