The end is not the end

Chris Maiden
thebarefootrunningcoach
2 min readDec 31, 2017

The end is not the end… it’s just that the way forward is sometimes just out of view!

I love this photo I took yesterday whilst on my barefoot run along Bognor Regis promenade… it looks like the end but there’s actually a path that continues just behind the little wall.

This year has been a good one, here are just some of the things that I’ve done in 2017…

I’ve run nearly 1,100 miles, a total of 250 miles barefoot (no shoes) in London, Malaga, Vienna and locally through the beautiful Lancashire countryside where I live.

I’ve run marathon distance in Vibram Fivefingers, run half-marathon distance barefoot (no shoes).

Completed my first 30 day plank challenge! I’ll be doing more challenges throughout 2018.

Had the most wonderful weekend fell running the Saunders Lakeland Mountain Marathon with my good buddy James.

Worked with an amazing bunch of super talented (and lovely) folks at the Wellcome Trust to launch Explorify.

Inspired by Mar Munoz, I went vegetarian and then vegan. I have never felt so good about what I am eating now.

Spent a great deal of time studying biomechanics, the workings of the foot and knee and associated running injuries.

Started helping out friends who’ve sustained running related injuries.

Connected with some of my heroes: Barefoot Ted, Barefoot Terry, Majo Srnik and Julia Chi Taylor.

I’ve committed to training for and running at least one marathon barefoot (no shoes) in 2018.

There’s more I could say but hey, I’m chuffed to bits to close out the year on a high.

I want to wish everyone a very happy new year and a here’s to a wonderful 2018!

--

--