Stories I ❤ed reading last week — 23rd July 2017 edition

Ravi Warrier
The Beaten Road
Published in
3 min readJul 25, 2017

The startup related stories I found most interesting this week…

Banner from Fuck You Startup World story!

Fuck You Startup World by Shem Magnezi

Notwithstanding the F-word torrent in the post by Shem, I think what he has to say about the frustrations of people involved in startups and the eco-system has more than a ring-of-truth to it. In the last few years, I have seen the hype, the sham, the shallow principles and even shallower expectations of the startup world and the frustration it has caused me over the time has increased consistently as I meet more and more people in the field.

This post is like a bandage that’s just been pulled out.

300+ Awesome Free Things for Entrepreneurs & Startups by Ali Mese

Who doesn’t like free stuff and when it comes wrapped in a neat little (okay, not so little) list like this, it’s even better.

Note: Be cautious about clicking on links. Even genuine writers are humans and may make mistakes. And without fail, make sure your anti-virus and firewalls are installed and working.

The startup framework to validate your idea before you spend $1 by Mitchell Harper

If there is an advice any sane person with entrepreneurial experience can give you, it would be to validate, your idea and market before you even take out the first lego block. Mitchell’s post gives you an easy step-by-step way to do just that!

If you are working on a new idea, I’d suggest you read this first!

How quitting my corporate job for my startup dream f*cked my life up by Ali Mese

I just wrote a short post on two things that wannabe entrepreneurs do not consider while wanting to work for a startup. And then I read this about the risks of starting on your own. Brilliant points made!

The Startup Idea Matrix by Eric Stromberg

Productive ideation is not easy. It’s not that generating ideas is tough, but generating ideas that are worth pursuing are tough to really nail down. Most of the times, you are just thinking from 1) your limited (and really tiny) perspective or world view, and 2) something somebody has already thought of or is working on.

What I like about this (matrix) is that, while it may not be exhaustive, it’s still a better starting point for someone who wants to drum up a business idea than sitting on your bed and scratching your head.

source: from the post

You don’t have to build a scalable startup by Jon Westenberg

One of my favorite quotes that has also been my guiding principle all of my life and, especially, in my career choices and paths is one from the famed comedian and actress Lily Tomlin.

The trouble with the rat race is that even if you win, you’re still a rat.

Jon, in his story, says something that resonates with Lily’s quote. You don’t have to do things that others are doing (run the rat race), because in the end, things don’t look all that brighter for you anyway. You might as well just do what you want to do, the way you want to do it and however it makes you happy.

--

--

Ravi Warrier
The Beaten Road

Entrepreneur. Trainer. Coach. Business Consultant. Works with #startups and working on an idea codenamed - Project Magpie.