My “Mixed” Maker Faire Experience

Andrew Kamal
TheBootStrapMaker
Published in
2 min readAug 7, 2017

I got to recently speak at Maker Faire. I talked about my experiences in the startup world, dealing with rejection, and even joked around with the audience.

However, though I had some fun. Something was missing.

Cool RD-D2 RC

While there were many cool tech projects, like that guy’s RC I shared. Some stuff was missing this year. This year’s Maker Faire felt more into the props and consumes then it did about tech, homebrew, and innovation.

Source: Pexels

While I only stayed for few hours on Saturday, I did though however enjoy some exhibits. One of them was this huge 3D printer that was probably over 10ft tall. I also enjoyed seeing the Dragon exhibit and some of the tech sponsors. GE also has there Predix environment demo. However what I want to make sure is that Maker Faire is more maker-focused. I don’t want maker-faire to be a costume or comic filled experience because this is not a comic con. This is a place where we show off cool tech projects. Mainly hardware related.

Though, some costumes I felt did fall into the line of “Maker”. Someone 3D printed his own sword. Another person built entire costumes out of Styrofoam, and someone else made a duct tape suit. Those I will let it slide.

Anyways, this year, Maker Faire have still not yet failed to impress. It still had its Maker filled integrity and showed a series of projects & bootstrap hauls that were quite enjoyable. I may speak there again or just come and watch a different year.

--

--

Andrew Kamal
TheBootStrapMaker

The dude with many different talents *Coder *Inventor *Startup Advisor *Coptic Activist *Sponsored Athlete *Blogger *Conservative *Researcher *Miaphysite