Promotions

Trade shows ain’t dead

Bootstrappers should double down on trade-shows

The Bootstrappers
The Bootstrappers

--

Last week, I visited Indian Hospitality Expo in Greater Noida. I had gone to check out machines for the espresso bar. I had to pull myself out of the place. Online is no match for in person trade shows.

I met the top B2B suppliers of coffee machines such as Kaapi Machines, Saimex and Kaapi Solutions. I also met manufacturers of kitchen equipments, ceramics, cutlery, cleaning equipment and decor. I asked hundreds of questions. I saw how the machines performed. I could compare the similar products from competing businesses. Top management or operations team attend their stalls.

Before the IHE, I tried to speak with the above teams to know about the espresso machines and grinders. I could only contact teams online or through phone. Either the response was slow or incomplete. The same businesses were prompt and responsive yesterday. One team surprised me with an offer. I am reconsidering my earlier choice. Do not judge a business by its slow response online. Instead, grab them by horns at a trade show.

As per Forbes trade shows are the most cost efficient way for face to face meetings: When I ranked marketing tactics during a ten-year lead generation study I conducted, networking at trade shows finished in the top five. The best marketing tactics are educational in nature, and a trade show let’s you educate prospects face to face (or “belly to belly,” as one of my mentors used to say).

Trade shows are also a boon for the bootstrappers. One can meet other fellow bootstrappers and collaborate. I bumped into a tea brand, which wants to experiment with coffee blends. I would have never gained the opportunity elsewhere. If I can derive value as a visitor, I am sure participants would have generated valuable leads and the businesses.

Following are the few upcoming trade shows, I would like to visit.

  1. India International MSME Expo & Summit: August 25–27 Link
  2. Indian International Mega Trade Fair: August 19–29 Link
  3. Franchise and Business Expo: August 7 Link
  4. Indian International Pet Trade Fair: August 29 Link
  5. Indian E-commerce Show: August 25–26 Link
  6. Indian Manufacturing Show: September 15–17 Link

Read more:

  1. Get more out of trade shows — HBR Link
  2. Pros and cons of trade shows Link
  3. Drive traffic to your booth Link

--

--