Marketing

What’s my name

Businesses lose if customers can not recall them

The Bootstrappers
The Bootstrappers

--

Image

It’s not enough to know your customers. It’s the moments in their lives, when the brands could come to their brand, matter. Unless people are aware about the brands, they will not consider buying it.

The first step is to make your target audience aware about your product and services. The next step is to make them buy your products and services. It happens by identifying category entry points (CEP). They are reasons or occasions, when someone considers buying in a product category. Mcdonald’s introduced Egg McMuffin as they saw breakfast as the category entry point.

Brand Strategist Stef Hamrlinck wrote, “It’s the most ‘direct’ way to think about brands. At what moments in the consumers life do they think about the category? How can we be there as a brand? How can we ‘own’ those moments? How can tap into those associations and build a brand?”

To find the CEPs ask the following questions:

  1. Why do I buy/ use the category?
  2. Where do I buy/ use the category?
  3. Who am I with, when I buy/ use the category?
  4. What else I am doing /consuming when I buy/use the category?
  5. How do I feel, when I buy/ use the category?

Worth your time: Story of Egg McMuffin Link

Subscribe The Shack Recap newsletter about marketing for indie biz

--

--