2021 Expectation

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet
3 min readJan 2, 2021

I am sitting inside the house in good ole East Texas ringing in the New Year with the Grandson and Granddaughter. As I sit in my man chair, I reflect on last year and look forward to the new year. Throughout 2020, we have heard how bad it was. It sure did have its share of challenges.

I think that I need to ponder a bit about the outlook of things. Going into 2020 some of us took too much for granted. Whereas this year might be a year we are little bit humbler in our expectations.

Over the course of 2020, I had a friend that lost her mom in mid Spring. I also had a friend that lost her sister recently right around the holidays. They both have something in common. They both could not attend their loved one’s funeral. Not because of finances, but because of COVID and COVID restrictions. Not to be able to pay last respects to a close loved one is detrimental. There are no words that can truly capture how horrible that is.

Life is short and I think 2020 reminded us of this. I think almost everyone can also give examples of someone they knew that died this year who was way too young. A tragedy that was not expected and caught a family by surprise. Life is short and it can end on a sudden moment.

Some know that I live not far from a cemetery. A place where, I promise you, 90% of the occupants thought they had a lot longer to live. The occupants most likely had plans for the next day, year and so on. They were expecting to grow older with their loved ones, but it just did not turn out their way. This just brings a sense of reality to me.

With the lessons from 2020, do we wait for live to end or do we go out and enjoy it? I believe we should go out and enjoy it. That does not mean put other people in harms way, it just means making the most of life as we know it.

The reality is for 2021, I will remain humble and grateful for everything I have. No matter the obstacles placed before me, I will be grateful to live each day. Some people go an entire lifetime fearing dying which is inevitable. But have those people truly lived? In these times we have been told, that we are to fear to truly live for we may die. I think I will simply focus on truly living and let the rest take care of itself. So, with that I boldly say in my Texan voice, “2021 bring it on and let’s live.”

This is my Friday’s Thought to Ponder for the Weekend.

Let us know your thoughts on this.

Originally published at https://shop.thecoachandthevet.com on January 2, 2021.

--

--

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet

Ian has received awards in journalism, who is a 31-year Veteran from the Army. Ian is an author of the Rick and Katja series "The Birth of a Spy Couple!!"