A little windy

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet
2 min readApr 8, 2022

This new experience with Mother Nature

I am sitting on the front porch with my sidekick this morning. As usual, we are taking in the morning traffic that passes in front of our house about 100 yards away. He is fascinated by the cars going by. This is the time of his life when everything just happens to be interesting.

A few days ago, we were out in the yard, doing spring cleaning. Because in Texas, all the fall leaves don’t fall till the middle or end of April. Unlike up north, everyone gets out in the cold and works on picking up leaves. No, not here. We do that several times between the end of fall to late spring.

Photo by Redd on Unsplash

As I was raking some leaves up, let me stop right there. Ok, I’ll be honest as I was using the leaf blower, a much easier and much lazier way of doing things. Mind you, it was a windy day also. Apparently, I wasn’t smart enough to outthink ole mother nature.

Photo by Johnny McClung on Unsplash

Moving along here, the Grandson was trying to figure out this sensation of the wind blowing in his face. Wow, what a great time of life when everything is really new. It was funny to watch the expression on his face. To see things through the eyes of a child is truly intoxicating.

Photo by Kat J on Unsplash

Many times, in his young life, the wind will blow in his face when things don’t necessarily go his way. I look forward to seeing how he faces those windy days. Will he take them head-on? Or will he wait them out? Or will he simply walk away? Each situation that I mentioned might be the best action for a particular point in time. I have found that when there is adversity, there is no one answer that fits all. It will depend on the situation. I am certain that I am pretty sure he will handle it in his own way.

This is my Friday’s Thought to Ponder for the Weekend.

The Vet

--

--

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet

Ian has received awards in journalism, who is a 31-year Veteran from the Army. Ian is an author of the Rick and Katja series "The Birth of a Spy Couple!!"