Cardinal

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet
2 min readFeb 18, 2022

A visitor from Heaven stopped by today.

Today I am doing my usual. I am out on the front porch with my Sidekick, the Grandson. We are enjoying the cars driving by. His head turns as he hears them coming from side to side. As we sit here, we have a visitor who is unique in his own right.

We have a redbird, Cardinal, paying us a visit. This is not the first time he has visited with us. Maybe there is a reason behind this.

Photo by Russell Sutherland on Unsplash

There is an ole wise tale that says, “when a Cardinal appears in your yard, it’s a visitor from heaven.”[1] I am not sure who came up with that folklore originally but it sure is comforting. As my Grandson and I enjoy the Cardinal hopping around, I can think of a couple of people who would choose to pay me a visit after their passing.

Could this be my Papaw? A man who loved nature and loved watching birds. That would make sense to me. My Papaw, taking a moment from Heaven to visit his Grandson, along with his Grandson. That is cool just thinking of that.

Maybe it’s my MeMaw? She was one that always understood me. A woman that was a nurse in WWII, took care of my Papaw during the war and throughout his life. She understood the military life because she was around it. My wife is very similar to her, as she is following the path of nursing. I could see her visiting us.

Most likely, though, if this folklore is true, it is my Mom. She is just stopping by to check on her kids and now Great Grandkids. I can see that. Yep, she would give us all a big hug right now if she was here right now. She would spoil my Grandkids more than I. There is no doubt about that. Since she cannot hug us and see us, maybe just flying in on us from Heaven is her way of saying hi.

Photo by Zulmaury Saavedra on Unsplash

If that is the case, I’ll say it is welcoming. As my Sidekick wanders around on the front porch and the yard, maybe it’s time for us to go pick up some bird food for our friends from Heaven. I think it is the least we can do.

This is My Friday’s Thought to Ponder for the Weekend.

The Vet.

Szczesniak, D. (2020, September 28). USURNS Online. Retrieved from When a Cardinal Appears in Your Yard, It’s a Visitor from Heaven: https://www.usurnsonline.com/memorials/cardinal-appears-yard-visitor-heaven/

[1] (Szczesniak, 2020)

--

--

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet

Ian has received awards in journalism, who is a 31-year Veteran from the Army. Ian is an author of the Rick and Katja series "The Birth of a Spy Couple!!"