Equity

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet
4 min readAug 5, 2021

Was the coverage of the Olympics equitable? Did we ever see the Olympians firing guns? Why not? Did that not fit NBCs narrative?

So, we heard the President come out and talk about equity when he first stepped into office. He even put an executive order on this focusing in on racial equity. I believe there is an equity problem in the United States, I just don’t believe it revolves around race.

The problem I see with equity is that has evolved over if you fall in line with my agenda, then we will treat you in an equitable fashion. If you don’t then there cannot be equity. At least that is the current environment we live in today. This transcends past the politicians and has engulfed the media as well.

The last few weeks, the wife and I have watched the Olympics almost religiously. Now some of you know that NBC has been the US network covering them. The question is, have they been equitable? I think that is up for debate.

Let’s look at how things were covered by NBC. Now I will attest I did not watch 100% of the Olympics, I am figuring around 85% is probably a correct statement. We watched a ton about Simone Biles, who won the Silver with the team and won the bronze on the bars. Did we see hide or hair of LT Amber English firing her gun in the skeet shoot? I did not. Well, she was one of the first Americans to win the gold medal. Hmmmm. Did we see hide or hair of Vincent Hancock firing his gun in the skeet shoot? I did not. He won the gold medal as well. Where is their story?

Was their story not worthy enough because they fire guns, and this does not fall in line with NBCs narrative. Is NBC trying to manipulate the conversation at the Olympics instead of conducting real journalism? I am asking a real question. At the Olympics that should be free of political agendas and narratives, is NBC pushing their anti-gun narrative?

As of right now the United States has 90 Olympic medal awardees. Within that, they have 29 gold medal winners, 24 silver medal winners and 27 bronze. I would think in all fairness, that the 29 gold medal winners would occupy a significant amount of time on NBC. That we would see them in action, not some blurb at the bottom of the screen. Why can I not see LT English knocking down 56 clays out of 60?

The Olympics is not all a about the Women’s Soccer Team, Simone Biles, the Men’s Basketball Team and the Swimming Teams. I personally believe, that 1/3 of all time on the Olympics from NBC was dedicated to Simone Biles. Got to love NBC, even when Suni Lee won the gold for Gymnastics-Artistic-Women’s Individual All-Around. Which is basically saying you are at this moment in time, the baddest gymnast the world has to offer. The discussion was not all about her and her shiny moment. NBC had to make it about their story and narrative that they were pushing. Which was Simone Biles. Now this is not a knock-on Simone Biles, she has no control of news networks. This is a complete knock-on NBC. This was a lack of respect to Lee and her accomplishments. Fueled by their narrative they prove once again that they cannot control their lust for pushing their story and not the story that is right in front of them.

So even in the Olympics we have shown we cannot even get a fair shake in the news. This is sad and tragic. I would think that NBC would be airing almost half their coverage on the accomplishments of the gold medal winnings and their events. I guess that is why I am not into major media outlets.

Congratulations to all Olympians from all countries because that alone is a helluva a feat. Then the medal winners, hey it is your day, hold your head up proud and tell your story. I would expect better from NBC and I just have to think as a kid when I watched the Olympics, was I only getting the story the network wanted to push or was I getting it all. We deserve better than that.

I think America Deserves some equity in journalism. I also believe that NBC has a long way to go before they are fair and equitable. I know America Deserves Better.

The Vet

Originally published at https://shop.thecoachandthevet.com on August 5, 2021.

--

--

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet

Ian has received awards in journalism, who is a 31-year Veteran from the Army. Ian is an author of the Rick and Katja series "The Birth of a Spy Couple!!"