Excellence in the Making

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet
3 min readMay 6, 2021

A fellow story embellisher, that would be my Granddaughter.

My morning routine, doing what I do every day, which entails checking on the progress of my plants. Sometimes you just have to embrace the moment and simply soak in the accomplishments that happen in life. Today is definitely, one of those days with tons of pride and I am walking with a little pep in my step. This is not because of what is in the yard but instead this is because the news my wife gave me yesterday.

For those that are fellow Texans you will understand it is the simple things in life that you appreciate. You appreciate that the sun rises each morning. Most Texans appreciate the nice clean air we breathe. We tend to appreciate the rugged life of working for a living and you work for what you have, nothing is given. Of course, we appreciate the idea, that we were lucky enough to be placed on God’s slice of heaven that he bestowed on earth that the world calls Texas. There is so many other things. Being a Texan is unique in its own way.

So, the love of my life, My Jenny, my wife told me that she took the Granddaughter, Lily, to pre-K. As she drove up, Lily got out of the car. As she was getting out of the car, Lily mumbled, “my Grandpa loves Lilies.” The teacher that works there said “good morning, Lily.” The teacher then proceeded to tell my wife that Lily told her, “she was named Lily because her Grandpa loves Lilies and grows them, so she is named after them.” Then Lily proceeded to tell the teacher about her brother that was in the car and the teacher said, “I didn’t know you had a brother.”

Now with my Granddaughter she will carry on a conversation that is for sure. No secret is safe with her. In fact, if she was ever interrogated, I am quite sure no interrogation techniques would be needed, and they would have to hire extra people just to keep up with all the information that she would provide.

I think it is important for me to divulge some facts in this. Until last year, I have never grown Lilies. I grew some last year solely because her name is Lily. I have expanded my Lilly growth this year. Now when I grew these lilies last year, I planted them with her and told her I like lilies and she has the same name as the flower, so we will call these “Lily’s flowers.” This year everyday we check on them. I mean every single day, rain or shine. Her mother loved the name Lily and named her that. Grandpa had nothing to do with the naming, Lol. But it briefs well.

What brings me great joy is that Lily listens. Now she may embellish the truth a bit, but she listens and is not afraid to provide a great story. What Texan does not embellish a story? I am so proud that she has those Texas roots and the gift that many Texans have, the ability to spin a yarn, to tell a tale, or to provide an entertaining story. She is excellence in the making.

Today, I will simply enjoy the fact that my Granddaughter, my Lily is truly Texan and according to her story she is named Lily because I grow ‘Lilies’ and I love ‘Lilies.’ So, I think she needs to hang onto her story and run with it.

This is my Friday’s Thought to Ponder for the Weekend.

The Vet-Ian Griffin

Originally published at https://shop.thecoachandthevet.com on May 6, 2021.

--

--

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet

Ian has received awards in journalism, who is a 31-year Veteran from the Army. Ian is an author of the Rick and Katja series "The Birth of a Spy Couple!!"