Messing with Mother Nature

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet
3 min readFeb 2, 2022

Doesn’t America Deserve Better-Messing with Mother Nature

I have always had a passion for history. Early in my career, I was stationed in Korea. While in Korea, I took an Early Traditional History of China. I am not sure what China has to do with Korea, but it was a course that was offered, so I jumped on it. To me, it was an eye-opening experience.

One of the significant lessons taken from this course was an old Chinese saying. “One who can control the flooding of the Yellow River can be king forever.” Now that is how I remember it. I am not sure of the exact phrasing on that. The point is they faced problems with flooding from the Yellow River. Well, heavy rains are from Mother Nature, and who controls Mother Nature? I believe no one. Now you can adapt to her and corral her for a bit, but you can truly never control her.

Now there was one who was famous from the Xia dynasty. Some dispute whether Yu the Great was indeed a person or not. Historians believe there is enough to say he was real, and the stories are not folklore but true. Yu was able to control the flooding by using canals and dredging riverbeds. So, if the “oracle bones” (whale bones were used by the Chinese to write on, they are the first recorded writings from China) are correct, then one could say Yu the Great was able to tame Mother Nature. As we know, the Yellow River would flood from time to time throughout history.

From the Chinese, I look at this phrase that one who controls Mother Nature can be king forever. So, to me, that sounds like a good play for campaign promises. You know, like hmmm, “I’m gonna shut down the virus, I’m not gonna shut down the country or the economy.”[1] Who said that? Well, the current President did, and he did it often. He even defended that when questioned about it.

This campaign promise that my ears heard from Biden when he uttered his promises were, “I am going to control Mother Nature, so vote for me.” That is all I heard when he spoke those words many times. When I first heard of it, I reflected to my class on Early Traditional China, to the very phrase that was used after Yu had success. So, does anyone think the President can control Mother Nature??? I do not believe that.

As of today, scientists have only been able to eradicate two viruses. “The World Health Organization (WHO) has declared only two diseases officially eradicated: smallpox caused by variola virus (VARV) and rinderpest caused by the rinderpest virus (RPV).”[2] So does anyone believe a career politician is going to eradicate the Corona Virus??? Hmmm, maybe he didn’t mean eradicate it, perhaps he meant to control it? So, what would that mean? I do not know.

I understand that when there are real-world problems, it takes people rolling up their sleeves. I am not sure if the President is the man for that, just saying. Career politicians are good at spending taxpayer dollars or passing legislation that will spend taxpayer dollars. Maybe I should suggest that working with Biomed companies is their strong suit. I could be wrong, but I doubt it.

I do know for sure that controlling Mother Nature is not the cards. Is it too bold to suggest that President made another empty campaign promise? Did our hope override our common sense? I would think so. One thing I am sure of is no one controls Mother Nature. America Deserves Better than empty campaign promises.

The Vet

We are on the following platforms. Join us, like us, subscribe to us, share us, and debate with us.

www.thecoachandthevet.com is our webpage

Facebook @coachandvet

Spotify The Coach and the Vet

iTunes The Coach and the Vet

YouTube The Coach and the Vet

Instagram thecoachandthevet

Angel Corona, P. (2020, March 6). American Society for Microbiology. Retrieved from Disease Eradication: What Does it Take to Wipe out a Disease?: https://asm.org/Articles/2020/March/Disease-Eradication-What-Does-It-Take-to-Wipe-out

Joe Biden: I’m going to ‘shut down the virus’, not the US-video. (2020, October 23). Retrieved from The Guardian: https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/video/2020/oct/23/joe-biden-coronavirus-shut-down-video

[1] (Joe Biden: I’m going to ‘shut down the virus’, not the US-video, 2020)

[2] (Angel Corona, 2020)

Mother Nature letting off some steam.

--

--

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet

Ian has received awards in journalism, who is a 31-year Veteran from the Army. Ian is an author of the Rick and Katja series "The Birth of a Spy Couple!!"