Nine Years

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet
6 min readJul 9, 2021

Has it truly been this long?

This morning I walk around the yard with my Granddaughter. As we stroll around the yard, we both take a survey of the plants growing in the yard. So many observations she has at this young age. The saying kids are like a sponge is an understatement. There is one thing I wish she could have experienced. That is I wish she could have experienced my Mom.

My mom passed away 9 years ago this week. There is not a day that goes by that I do not think of her and miss her. I would give almost anything just to hear her on the phone today, although I would not get much in on the conversation, normally I was listening, lol.

In the month of June nine years ago, I was preparing to head out to Afghanistan. My Mom was flew over to Germany where I was stationed at to see my second son, Ty, graduate from High School. She arrived about 5 days prior, and I was scheduled to fly out within 48 hours. Well, the flight got moved up, so I got to spend only 6 hours with her. Little did I know that would be my last six hours of seeing her.

We talked a bit and I remember one of the last things we discussed. She looked at me and said, “this one right here has you worried.” My Mom was referring to my daughter. I said yes. She said, “it will all work out eventually, don’t worry.” That was really the last conversation we had. She went on to get some sleep and I tried to get a couple of hours before heading to the staging sight where we would get ready to head out. I remember a couple hours later walking out the door of the house looking at her sleep and thinking to myself, “Ian when you get back from this deployment you got to spend some serious time with Mom because she only has about two years left.” Little did I know I was being optimistic.

After arriving in Afghanistan and being there for right at a month, I said I would go down to the market and spend some pennies on myself. I was going to buy a fur blanket that was hand stitched. It was a Sunday. I purchased the blanket went back to my room and facetimed with my wife. I figure I would turn in for the evening and get ready for the next morning.

After midnight I heard a knock on my door and it was Major Krupp, who was a good friend of mine. He replied, “CSM, LTC Letcher called and said that your wife called her husband, and you need to call your wife immediately.” I immediately thought it was about my teenage daughter. You know teenagers. I replied, “thanks Sir.”

I opened my computer and facetimed my wife. She said, “Ian” then she paused. After a long pause in a way only a German could do, “Ian your Mom passed away today.” I just sat there and took it in. She then said, “Ian are you ok?” I paused and then replied, “I am honey, uh I need to let the boss know and I’ll get back with you.” She said, “are you sure your alright?’” I replied, “yep I am.”

Now I figure I would have to wait for the Red Cross message before any thoughts of getting things moving so sometimes, we miscalculate things. LTC Michelle Letcher was my Battalion Commander and my boss. She was conducting a site visit at Bagram. So I called her and immediately she answered the phone.

“Hey CSM” in a chipper voice, “what’s going on?” LTC answered. “Ma’am I just got word my Mom passed away,” I replied. “I am truly sorry to hear this,” she replied. Then there was a pause for a second and she said, “CSM, this is non-negotiable, I am coming back to Kandahar in the morning, and you are not to be there, you are to be going home.” I replied, “Ma’am” and she cut me off, “that’s an order.” It is times like these that true leaders step up when no one is around and they make critical decisions, that is exactly what she did because I would have stayed in country and continued with the mission. I would have gotten absorbed in it and completely forget what was behind me in the real world.

Then I asked her, “what is that noise in the background?” In a cheerful voice, “oh CSM we are all in a bunker, been taking some incoming.” Got to love the Army that is for sure. So, after I got off the phone, I immediately went to the Executive Officer, Major Krupp and informed him what happened. Of course, he expressed his condolences and said, “I’ll get the ball moving on this.” He started to step away and then turned back and said, “CSM are you ok?” I said, “yes, I am going to go to the gym and work out for a bit and then I’ll be back.”

I returned to my hooch as we call it and facetimed with my wife to let her know the deal. I explained all that was going on with my end. I told her I would contact her in the next couple of hours that I was going to go to the gym to do a workout. So as I started to step out of my hooch to go to the gym, Major Krupp and our transportation Sergeant was at my door. The SGT said, “CSM you don’t mind flying on an Angel Flight, do you?” (For those of you that do not know what an Angel Flight is, it is a flight for casualties, that normally flies direct into Ramstein. If there is some empty space, then one can catch a flight on it.) I said, “no that would be great.” He then said, “good we will have you out of here in two hours.” I was astonished and caught off guard. I honestly thought I would be stuck going to Kuwait, waiting a couple of days and such then finally getting to Germany.

I notified my wife and got on the Angel Flight. They placed me on the side for seating and they had six casualties. On the Angel Flight were about 10 or so flight medics. I noticed all casualties were on stretchers. Two of the casualties were completely awake and could get up and walk around. The four others were completely sedated or knocked out. I noticed two of the casualties were missing their lower limbs. It seemed like every 10 minutes or so the medics were adjusting something or doing checks on the patients.

Within about two hours of Ramstein, I noticed one of the casualties was coming to. A flight medic went and stood right next to the top of his stretcher and looked down on him. She said, my name is LT (I can’t remember the name) and you have been wounded and I am here to take care of you. He seemed to struggle a bit, almost going into shock. I sat there and witnessed this LT calm him down with the grace of a seasoned medic. Some may not know that a Solider going into shock can be extremely deadly and if not handled quickly it would be too late. Another medic came over as well as the Flight Doctor and they sedated the casualty.

This was strange for me. I had just received the news less than 10 hours earlier that my Mom had passed away. Now I am witnessing the medics keeping Soldiers alive. For me this was truly comforting. I know that may sound strange for some, but it put me at peace.

I would land in Ramstein and along with my family we would make it to my Mom’s funeral. The journey to get there was filled with obstacles to say the least, but it was worth it. Somehow, I think my Mom was on that plane with me, looking after my fellow Soldiers.

Nine years after the death of my Mom, it is obvious that she was the glue for our family. This was the woman that never knew a stranger. Mom was always vibrant and also one who fought for her family no matter what. Her family was her treasure and from what everyone tells me, she let everyone know that.

I do wish my Granddaughter, who walks with me in the yard, could have known her. I wish the same for my Grandson. My Mom would have spoiled the BeJesus out of them, that is a fact. She would relish the fact that I now live only 3 miles from her house. I am quite sure I would have seen her everyday being back from the Army also.

This my friends, is my Friday’s Thought to Ponder for the Weekend!!!!

The Vet

Originally published at https://shop.thecoachandthevet.com on July 9, 2021.

--

--

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet

Ian has received awards in journalism, who is a 31-year Veteran from the Army. Ian is an author of the Rick and Katja series "The Birth of a Spy Couple!!"