Texas Deserves Better-Meza

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet
4 min readDec 10, 2020

Here on the Coach and the Vet we like to do our due diligence. Lately there has been an uproar regarding Terry Meza, the Texas State Representative from the 105th District, Irving. What has garnered much attention is HB 196. But was has not been publicized is that there are many other laws she is proposing as well. To start out we will cover HB 196 and then move on.

HB 196 is a bill that she is co-sponsoring which “relates to the use of deadly force in defense of a person or property.” It was introduced on the 87th Legislature Regular Session and the date it was introduced was November 9, 2020. Meza’s own words are that it “would require a homeowner to exhaust the potential of safely retreating into their habitation before using deadly force in defense of themselves or their property.” Her further comments are “thieves only carry weapons for self-protection and an incentive for the homeowner to cooperate. They just want to loot and get away.”

Ok I am going to throw shade on this a bit. How does the homeowner know the true intent of the so-called thief? What if the thief says, “oh no, now they can identify me, I have to get rid of the family that can identify me?” Second but probably more obvious of an issue is, we are in Texas. Trust me if someone breaks into a home in Texas, they do know what the consequences will most likely be if they are confronted by a homeowner. Now knowing this and they still break into a home, that means they are willing to use deadly force themselves. Either their desperation level is at a whole new level, they are on a serious narcotic trip at the time or they are flat out bat shit crazy. Either way there is no reasonable scenario where the homeowner can trust their intentions.

Meza is also proposing HB185, the title is, “Relating to creating the criminal offense of failure to safely store a firearm,” HB178, which is, “Relating to creating a criminal offense for the unlawful possession or transfer of a large-capacity magazine.” Some other bills she is proposing as well are HB 172 which is titled, “Relating to creating a criminal offense for the unlawful possession or transfer of an assault weapon,” and HB201, “relating to carrying of handguns on the campuses of and certain other locations associated with institutions of higher education.” If those are not enough, Meza is also proposing is HB208 which is title, “Relating to the manufacture of firearms without a federal license; creating a criminal offense” and HB238 which is “Relating to the regulation of firearms or ammunition by a municipality or county.” There are also several other bills she is proposing to limit weapons in Texas. These are just a few that we have identified.

I will throw two scenarios out there when it comes to guns.

I recently retired from the military and have been around firearms for a long time. When I arrived back in East Texas I went to a church where the local Sheriff candidates would speak on their upcoming elections. There were three candidates there and about 70 people in the church room. The church room is where they would have what we call dinner on the grounds. As I met people that I had not seen in years, many gave me a hug. While greeting each other with hugs, I remember telling my wife afterwards that many I could tell many had concealed firearms when I hugged them. The people I hugged could tell I was carrying also. No one made anything of it, we were all simply glad to greet each other. I joked that there were 70 people there, but I bet there were over 100 weapons there and I never felt safer. I say that again, I never felt safer.

The second scenario is my last duty station was in Detroit. In Detroit, I did not have a License to Carry. I will say my entire 2 ½ years in Detroit I was always looking over my shoulder. I would find myself constantly searching for all exits. Anyone that entered the room, I was immediately sizing them up, searching immediately where their weakness would be at. I do not do that so much in Texas. I wonder why? Hmmmmmmmmm.

I am curious is Meza working for Irving, her district and Texas or is she working for Beto on all this? Why would any Legislator want to compromise our 2nd Amendment Rights? Just as important why would any Legislator want to handcuff someone defending their family and their home against someone who clearly is irrational by breaking into their home.

We just thought at the Coach and the Vet you needed to know a little more about this than just HB 196, which is audacious enough. There is a lot more restrictions this Legislator would like to place on our freedoms.

Originally published at https://shop.thecoachandthevet.com on December 10, 2020.

--

--

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet

Ian has received awards in journalism, who is a 31-year Veteran from the Army. Ian is an author of the Rick and Katja series "The Birth of a Spy Couple!!"